Changes on the Horizon….

2016 has been a wild year!

jesse-feb-2016

I know, I know.. it’s not over yet, but my events have ended for the year, which means I am now focusing on moving into 2017 with a whole new perspective.

I’ve gone through many changes in 2016.  My life on the whole has changed dramatically.  In 2015, it ended in utter turmoil.  For about a month, I was homeless. Sleeping on a friends’ sofa, and staying in a hotel.  I had broken mentally and emotionally in every way imaginable, and only maintained a spiritual prayer that it would all be “OK” on God’s pure Grace.

I was afraid of all these terrible things, that in the end, really never ended up happening.  It wasn’t so bad, and support came through for me in ways I never imagined or expected.  As I move forward looking on to 2017, some of the things I once feared happening are on the brink of taking place, and I believe I can handle them.  I’ve found my strength and focus, and while half the time I still have no idea whether I’m coming or going, I am at least beginning to make peace with that fact, and I leave it all in God’s hands.

luke-apri-2016

Que serra….   What a road it has been.

Not too long after 2016 started, I finalized my divorce.  12 years of hell and abuse ended on paper, but the mental and emotional damage would be long lasting.  Along the journey of 2016, I discovered entirely new aspects to who I am – found loves I never knew I had, renewed old passions I thought were gone forever, explored creativity I did not think I could possess.

I’ve made new friends, and I’ve walked off 70 pounds, with about 800 miles clocked so far – and amazingly, my feet are still holding strong!  Hahaha!  I’ve driven on a 2750 mile road trip and saw 9 states along the way! Most of all, I’ve been back to Dragon*Con – something I definitely thought was long gone from my life.

dragoncon-2016-friday-night-costume-con

I took Luke out to a show and had a blast, and next week we are going to drive through the Star-Trek themed corn maze!

luke-sept-2016

Tomorrow, I celebrate 8 months since that little pink slip on my marriage was stamped.  In a few days more, I celebrate 1 year since I got myself free and changed my life in massive ways.  In a couple weeks, I celebrate 5 full years of being cancer free (Thanksgiving Monday, 2011!).

There are many changes I’ve been through in 2016, and it still isn’t done.  There are more changes on the horizon.  Not all of them are easy changes, but so far, nothing has truly been easy, I’ve just gotten through on God’s good humor.  I strive to do the best I can, and make the right choices.  They are not all easy choices, but I make them with the best of intentions.

geekdcon2016

I ended this year’s convention “season” with 2 Best in show awards.  One was Best in show out of about 60 entries, and the other was a Best in Show 3rd place award out of 200 entries.  Pretty cool!

mccc

I got to hang out with awesome friends, and feel so privileged to be part of a very special group of incredible people.

grcc-2016

I am working on a new costume for 2017, which I hope will be well received.  It should be a lot of fun anyway!  I’m also working on a few new projects for over the winter, and I hope to have some new kinds of artwork available in the early part of 2017 as I get into sculpting, molding, casting, and painting more and more.  I’ve done quite a bit of sculpting & casting and learning my way through mold making.

I’m excited about some of the changes coming, while I am saddened over other changes, but I am learning to make peace with myself, past, present, and future, and I can only hope that as 2016 closes and 2017 begins, I will continue on this journey and find my way.  I am in a totally different place as of today than I was this day one year ago, and I can only hope as I move forward, I start to think less and less about the past and more and more about the road to come – however bumpy it may be.  I am ready.  Hear me roar.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

