The Great Adventure – Part I

Ok, so this isn’t exactly the story of my life, but some of the lyrics are fairly appropriate.

After I let myself go from my marriage, I began to let myself go do all the things he said I couldn’t.  The things “we” didn’t have the money for (because he refused to work), the things he said were too far, too long of a drive, too boring, too “stupid”, or I was too fat to enjoy…..

I have officially let myself go.  Well, I haven’t let myself go on any singles cruises, nor would I if I had the money, and my recent adventures definitely did teach me quite a  bit about my social inabilities and solitary existence, but I had an amazing time.

The only really frustrating thing I heard from a few people over and over and over was “you really went by yourself?”  Who the fuck else am I going to go with?  Kind of thing that makes me grit my teeth until they break, but yea – I went myself, and had an amazing time.

This is the kind of thing I could never have done in my… “past life”, and I was grateful for the ability to go do it.  In some ways, I suppose, I’m checking off my bucket list because the truth is, we don’t know how long we have on this world, so why not start?

2016 has been one big adventure for me.  It’s been filled with new adventures, and making old things new again.  I’ve learned some new skills, and I’ve made some new friends along the way, and realized so much about myself that I didn’t know.  Not all of what I have learned is easy to accept, but slowly, I am coming to grips with exactly what I am and where I need to be in my life.

This year I’ve revisited taking road trips.  I used to always love road trips.  I was the kid who when I was 16 would just get in the car and drive (a Camaro, actually).  And I thought I was cool as hell because I had a crappy little car I could take myself any place in.  I drove to New York City, Phildelphia, Virginia, Ocean City Maryland… just for no reason, except that I could.

Over the last 12 years or so, my road trips plummeted to almost none.  They were restricted to only being for about an hour, and there had to be a specific destination in which I was required to purchase some kind of treat (food, trinkets, or candy).  Eventually, if I even managed to get in a 3-4 hour road trip to see a new place, I came back exhausted and miserable, and hated every minute of it.  I assumed I just no longer enjoyed road trips like I used to – just part of getting older, perhaps.

This year, I’ve taken 2 different 7-8 hour road trips and enjoyed every last sun-roof open, windows down, K-Love on the radio blasting minute of them both.  I realized I still do love road trips, and I was happy as could be with just me and my camera and my beautiful car.

So, all of 2016 was really gearing up for one big adventure.  I mapped out my road trip, planned the stops.  Figured out where I needed to be on what days, and by the time all was said and done, I had a 10-day long, 2400 mile road trip on the calendar, and I couldn’t wait to get out on the open road with my sun roof open!

I’ll break my little adventure up into 3 posts due to the amount of photos 🙂

But enjoy!

 

The first leg of my adventure 2016 was through Illinois into Kentucky, with a quick stop to see Superman.  Yes, Superman.  Did you know Metropolis City is in Illinois?  It’s one of those places I’ve said for the last 6 or 8 years I wanted to go, so that was the first stop on my road trip.

 

metropolis1 metropolis2metropolis3metropolis4metropolis6metropolis7metropolis8metropolis9

The other statue is a tribute to the first lady who played Lois Lane.

Next on the agenda, was Kentucky.  I haven’t been to the Kentucky Horse Park since 2002, so it was high time I went once again.  For this stretch of my journey, I did have company.  A gracious friend who owns a horse farm in Kentucky let me stay at her place and came with me to the KHP.  We had a great time exploring Kentucky over 2 days.

castle

Found a castle…

keenland1keenland2keenland3   keenland4keenland5keenland6keenland7keenland8

 

Visited Keenland Racecourse and then headed down the street to the KHP.

khp1khp2khp3khp4khp9khp12khp14khp15khp16khp17

The last time I was at KHP, both John Henry and Cigar were living residents and I have pictures of both of them.  That was a little sad.

khp19

khp18khp20

^ Go For Gin

khp21khp22

^^ That’s FunnyCide

khp23khp24khp25khp26khp27khp28khp29khp30khp31khp32

Had a nice walk around the eventing field in 100 degree heat (LOL!).  You eventing people – you’re nuts.  Your horses are nuts.  Everything about your sport is insane.  Those jumps are crazy.  I could not imagine galloping full speed towards one and thinking how my horse isn’t going to stop dead and drop my ass.  LOL!

kims1kims7kims10

Above are some shots from around the tobacco farm my friend owns.  What a beautiful place.  I took a gazillion photos of insects around the farm, and I will share those eventually too.

 

After two days in Kentucky, the next leg of my journey took me through the hills of Tennessee, near Nashville, headed south to Atlanta.  This photo below is the sunrise on Thursday 9/1 coming through Tennessee somewhere.  What a gorgeous state.  I have definitely forgotten how mountainous and beautiful the rest of the world is.  Made me question why I was going to back to Illinois when it was all over.

tn2

 

Stick around for part II – it’s epic.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Great Adventure – Part I

  1. RiderWriter says:

    I am SO SO HAPPY for you that you did this trip! So far I’m right with you because I’ve been to Keenelsmd and KHP several times (once for Rolex, where I saw those insane horses and riders flying over those jumps). I have driven by Metropolis on the highway dozens of times but never detoured to see the Man of Steel, alas. I know why you were headed to Atlanta and can’t wait to see photos from your beloved convention! 😉

  2. Lana says:

    How awesome!! Good for you girl! Looks like you are finally enjoying every minute of your new life!

Leave a Reply

