Out with Summer, in with Fall

Well, I definitely wanted to see some changes in 2015, and it has delivered and….it isn’t over yet.

So far in the last 9 months, I have lost a car that I had for 11 1/2 years, bought a new (to me) one, sold a trailer I’ve had for 9 years, and bought a replacement one and sold that one within a few weeks.  (I’m still working on the replacement of the replacement).  It’s taken a while, but I’ve finally narrowed it down, and keeping fingers crossed that all goes well.

Additionally, I have retired Chewbacca due to lameness, and am pondering what my 2016 horse year might look like, or if I will drive or show at all.  We’ll just have to see about that.

I am also very heartbroken to say that just a week ago, our cat Wasabi, who we also had for 11 1/2 years, passed away.

Wasabi 8-3-13b Wasabi 8-3-13d

We acquired our beautiful boy through a rescue when he was just a year old.  He was a loving, although sometimes pissy, opinionated cat with a perfect combination of sweet, playful, and troublemaker to be charming and naughty all at once, but ultra loveable always.  He was a lap cat, who loved physical contact with us, and was the most outgoing of all the cats, the first one to greet anyone who came to the door or stopped over for a visit.  Wasabi was prim and proper, regal, and he would howl endlessly at night sometimes.  He definitely let you know he was part Siamese.  He was there through an 800 mile move, and 4 new feline additions to the house, and 2 dogs.  Wasabi was the big brother to them all, pleasantly supervising over everyone from his favorite spots up on the cat trees near the ceiling.  Wasabi had a sudden, massive collapse of health, and within 2 weeks he went from “something isn’t quite right” to crossing over.  We don’t know what was wrong, as numerous tests all came back normal; we can only assume he had major cancer of some kind, although there were no tumors.     He will be forever missed.  He left a huge hole in our hearts.

It was a hard loss, and yet another major change that 2015 had to offer.  I’m hoping to still make more major changes as 2015 winds down and 2016 starts up, so we’ll see what happens!

You’ll also notice some changes to the blog appearance, too, as it was long overdue.

Have a wonderful day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Out with Summer, in with Fall

  1. Lei says:

    It’s been a year, it has.

    I have no idea where I’ll be in 2016 myself. I might even be riding less for all I know. Being laid up for so long kind of taught me something. That when your only buddies are horsey people, and you can’t really hang out with them … it’s awful lonely.

    Not that I’d ever give up horses, but I have an inner geek that has had a chance to really flourish these last 4 months (well, it’s always been there, but most people I know who have horses don’t have that inner geek as well so it got repressed.)

    So maybe I need some new friends too.

    I’d like to aim for going to several comic cons, possibly SDCC if I can, C4 for sure. Long Beach likely. D*Con’s a bucket list dream that might not happen this year, but maybe someday. I intend to finish my seaQuest costumes, and work on getting my Darth Revan (awesomeest EVER!) garb together. Doing Revan for Halloween. Got the mask, and a sort of costume. Yay, KOTOR geekdom out the wazoo.

    I’m also looking onto joining the 501st Legion. SoCal Garrison’s pretty active, and they have a squadron that’s near me. Probably trying to shoot for Imperial Staff Officer first (simple, relatively budget friendly costume and quick approval) and then maaaaaybe later, I can be a buckethead. Since I can’t hit the broad side of a barn, so I’d fit right in with the other stormtroopers, haha.

  2. Lana says:

    So sorry for the loss of your kitty! We have also lost a dog this year, and very sudden also. Very hard to loose a pet that means so much to you! Wish you the best of luck for your 2016!

Leave a Reply

