Horicon Marsh

I needed a bit of a break from “reality”, with dilemmas over the horse trailer, Chewbacca and future goals – it’s all a bit stressful!   I don’t get away often at all. It’s been more than a year since I had any type of vacation, so to me just a “weekend getaway” is a real treat.

So, I treated myself–  to 24 hours with just my camera and the beauty of nature!  I figure this must be what Heaven looks like.  Sun, blue skies, green grass, and beautiful flowers and animals and nature everywhere.  I visited Horicon Marsh in Wisconsin – one of 25 Federally protected marshes in the U.S. (including the Everglades).

In some of the spots of the marsh – especially when I went there in the middle of night to look at the stars- I couldn’t even hear traffic and barely saw city lights.  I listened to the coyotes and the crickets and during the day – the birds!  Oh my the birds!!!!!   It was wonderful … and speaking of the Everglades—- photo trip 2016 might just be starting into the planning stages.  I’m not kidding!  After seeing a small taste of the beauty and wonder of nature at Horicon, it seems like only the Everglades would even be able to top that!

For now, I am happy to share some of my photos of the marsh.  I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed taking them!  I have over 80 photos all together, but chose just a small handful to share here.

Please click on the photos to make them larger for better viewing.

Geese

Above, a flock of geese coming in for a landing – you can see more geese and sandhill cranes in the field below.  This was at about 5:30am Sunday morning.

Below, a flock of American White Pelicans takes to flight over the marsh, around 6am Sunday Morning.

Pelicans

Bald Eagle  Juvenile Bald Eagle

Above, an adult male American Bald Eagle, and a juvenile Bald Eagle, around 4 months of age.

Below, a barn swallow

Barn Swallow

Sunrise on the Marsh

Above, dawn at the Marsh.

Below, an adult Black Crowned Night Heron on the left, and a juvenile Black Crowned Night Heron on the right.

Black Crowned Night Heron  Juvenile Black Crowned NH

Doube Crested Cormorant

Above, Double Crested Cormorant with a bullhead carp in its mouth

Below, a field of black eyed Susans, I just thought was pretty.  😉

Field of Susans

Great Blue Heron 2 Great Blue Heron

Above & below, my “usuals”, Great Blue Heron and a Great White Egret.

Great White Egret

Green Heron

Above, a Green Heron with a crawfish for breakfast.  Below, a muskrat.

Muskrat

Spotted Sandpiper

Above, a spotted sandpiper and below, a yellow headed black bird.

Yellow Headed Black Bird

Enjoy!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Horicon Marsh

  1. RiderWriter says:

    These are gorgeous pictures and I’m very ad you took some “you time” and did something you enjoyed so much. It’s important to take care of yourself, no matter what. ☺️ 👍

Leave a Reply

