Photo Outings Get Better and Better

I can’t believe it’s been over 3 weeks since I last posted.  I swear, I’m still here!  Just busy, busy, busy.

I hate to say it, but my driving hours are dwindling a little.  It can be hard cramming a photo walk session and driving multiple horses!  I’ve definitely been staying busy, though!

Of course the horses have been busy working!  Since my last post about Luke and Chewbacca, the boys were learning to work in tandem at the beginning of May. I am very proud of myself for being able to safely and successfully hitch them.  They’ve only done the 2 workouts.  Weather and help &  time availability has kept me from driving them tandem, I just can’t do it without a second person right now.

Luke has been keeping busy working as usual and Jesse has been off the farm for his first trail drive at the end of May!  Both the show in mid-May and the marathon course open-drive event at the end of May were canceled due to rain, but a small group of minis got together for a drive at a local park, and since I have a truck & trailer, Jesse and I went!  He was a good boy, just one little temper tantrum!  Jesse (and I) did our first “real” bridges – crossing over water several times, and did a total of 8 bridges (4 bridges twice)!  Video is coming if I can ever get the computer to cooperate.

Chewbacca has been getting consistently less and less work.  Not because I don’t love him, but because I think he can use a little break.  His hard life of working 2 days’ a week you know 😉

In the mean time, some dwindling driving time has been compensated by more and more time out taking photos.  I am hoping to start up an online photo website soon, and I am looking into my options.  I sure would love to be able to sell my photography as prints, canvases, and more… and maybe earn a little “new horse trailer” money while doing it 🙂

Some of my latest adventures has resulted in these photos:

Goldfinch 05-10-2015 (3) Goldfinch 05-23-2015

Above, male goldfinches. Below, a female goldfinch

Goldfinch Female 05-23-2015b

This is a Hummingbird Hawkmoth, freshly emerged from his cocoon.

Hawkmoth1

This little bird is a nuthatch, a new species for me to find & photograp

Nuthatch 05-23-2015a

This is a Baltimore Oriole, also a new species for me.

oriole 05-16-15

This one is a red headed woodpecker, and yes, you guessed it – my first time finding one of them!

RedHeaded Woodpecker 06-01-2015e

Rookery 05-17-15a Rookery 05-17-15d Rookery 05-17-15h

Above are images from a rookery (community nesting site) of Great Blue Herons and American Cormorants.  How cool!  You might notice 2 baby herons sticking their heads up in the nest in the photo above, left.

Below, I got a whole scene of action with 4 Sandhill Cranes, an Egret, and a couple male redwing blackbirds on the attack.  You can see the black bird swooping down and out of the frame as he pecked at the cranes!

Sandhills 05-25-2015c Sandhills 05-25-2015e Sandhills 05-25-2015j Sandhills 05-25-2015k Sandhills 05-25-2015n

My first time (finally!) managing a photo of a swallow in flight!

Swallow 05-17-15a

Below, a red bellied woodpecker – even though it has a “red head” you can really see the huge difference between this woodpecker and the red headed woodpecker above.

woodpecker 05-16-15

This little mouse-size bird is a House Wren, and I am very proud of this catch!  It was so tiny, I swear it was the bark on the tree moving.  Again, another new catch for me!

wren 05-16-15

Below, these are male yellow warblers!  Also a new catch for me!

Yellow Warbler 05-25-2015b Yellow Warbler 05-25-2015c

Yet another new catch for me, below, an Eastern Towhee.  I LOVE getting out and being able to spot, and photograph new species of birds for me!  Cool!

Esatern Towhee 06-05-2015b

Below, a couple of butterflies, all also new for me to photograph.  Top left, a Pearl Crescent.  Top Right, a small blue butterfly (yes, that really is the common name).  Bottom, a small copper butterfly.  (apparently they were feeling very creative in the butterfly naming department that day).

Pearl Crescent Butterfly 06-05-2015 Small Blue Butterfly 06-05-2015 Small Copper Butterfly 06-05-2015b

Lastly, a turtle — I have no idea what species, but it was well over 12″ long and a good 8″ wide.  It had pretty eyes.

Turtle 06-05-2015 Turtle 06-05-2015_1

Till next time!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

