Art Gallery

There is an art gallery that is open 1 Friday night a month in a town about an hour from me.

Each month, the curator of the gallery puts out a call for submissions from local artists, including painters and photographers, to submit their work to a judged panel for consideration to be entered into the gallery, where the artwork is available for sale on just that one night.

It’s kind of a big deal – the gallery is large, gets jam-packed full of people, and has an open bar on 2 floors and a band, lol.    I’m not familiar with art galleries, really, since I’ve never been in one or gone to one, but this one is pretty much like what you see in any TV show.  The gallery itself is in a converted old factory and the whole thing has a rustic appeal to it.

Every month I get the call for submission emailed to me since I signed up on their email blast list, and every month, I say to myself “oh no, nothing I have is good enough for an actual real deal art gallery”…… Well, last month, I took a step closer and I “liked” their FB page.

After the gallery in March, I noticed a multitude of posts of work that sold or won awards during the part sale/part art contest gallery night.  Every one of them was amazing, and I pretty much now knew the level of the standard of artwork that is accepted and sells and I said for sure I was not going to submit.

Well, I guess it was on my mind and I apparently managed to run my brain in enough circles about submitting that I finally just squeezed my eyes shut and clicked the “submit” button.  My digital version of the artwork was gone in a click, off for consideration to be judged by professional artists and (hopefully) deemed worthy of submission in the gallery.

I tried to pick my very best, based on what I thought was “good” artwork, actual creative/mood setting work.  I could only submit 5 images, and by “only” I mean I had a hard time finding 5 submissions that I felt qualified as “art”.

ride1

Luke2014Janfsmall

hayfield

ladybugsmall

water

Out of these 5 submissions, the only one that did not get selected is the one of Luke & Chewbacca dancing around in the snow.  Of course I like that photo the most because it’s my silly babies having fun 🙂  Seeing them having fun always makes me happy, even if it isn’t the best photo.

Apparently, the most popular photo I have taken thus far this year is the last one of the water, which I took just a couple weeks ago.  Honestly, it’s not my favorite, but it seems to be pretty popular. So, yes, I got FOUR photos accepted into the gallery!  Woot woot!

I got them all framed up to look nice and professional.  I sure hope they sell 🙂 I’m still debating about starting up a SmugMug account to sell prints & canvases and artwork, but for now, that’s just a though on the back burner.  Maybe I will do it one of these days.  Maybe not.

In other news, the horses have been working hard or hardly working, weather depending!  Luke and Chewbacca are working hard on a new skill and they will be “unveiled” soon …. as soon as the weather cooperates, anyway, which was supposed to be to today but the weather said NO.

Looking ahead, if the forecast is correct, it probably won’t be this week or next week either.  Ho hum.

Anyway, here’s to fingers crossed that my photos go over well at the gallery (and sell, ideally – because I do NOT need more prints & frames sitting around my house, lol!)… and that eventually I can unveil Luke & Chewie’s new skills :)… oh, and a few pictures of Sunday morning’s trail drive with the boys ( most of whom were happy to work, save for Chewbacca missing breakfast before he went for an early early morning drive!)  Oh the shame….

ChewieApril2015

JesseApril2015

LukeApril2015

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

