250 Hours

I think it is official to say that I am a recreational equestrian.  Long since gone are my wild dreams about becoming a Grand Prix jumper rider.  Then a Grand Prix dressage rider.  Short lived was my hope I could become a competitive driver.  I do  love getting out to shows, but it just isn’t practical, or a large part of what I do with my horses.

That doesn’t mean I won’t work with them like I’m going to a show next weekend, because it really does keep me sharp and makes them better, fitter, and more prepared for anything I throw at them, however, showing will not be in the cards for a very long time, if at all again.  Which is fine.  Show people can be so uppity, too.  ha!

All the more reason to make logging recreational driving hours that much more fun.  I do plenty of recreational driving time, and with keeping 3 horses in work, the hours can add up quickly.  Not too long ago, I mentioned that I received my 250 hour pin:

250hourpint

The American Driving Society also offers members that reach the Hours To Drive goals a little write up in their beautiful magazine.  Chewbacca and I were in it in 2012 for logging 100 hours (of course Luke and Jesse helped accrue those hours, but I can only have 1 photo!).  In 2013, we missed hitting that 250 goal by just 7 hours, so that was made up for in the first 2 weeks of 2014.   Each February, the new magazine from the ADS comes out and includes members that have reached their driving goal awards.

Of course, I used Chewbacca’s photo again, so he is famous.  Maybe for the 500 hour pin, I will use Luke or Jesse  🙂

htd1

htd2

Chewbacca even made it into the “R” of DRIVE.  I thought that was nice!  I love having this program – gives me something to work towards of course.

The ADS offers recreational driving awards for 100 hours, 250 hours, 500 hours, 750 hours, and 1000 hours.   I am over 330 hours currently, but I am pretty sure I will not hit 500 this year.  Normally I get around 115 hour per year of driving time.  I guess I will look forward to getting that 500 hour pin in 2016 – and giving Luke or Jesse a moment to shine in the ADS Magazine!

Obviously the hours are accumulative.  I have actually been a member of the ADS for 5 years, but only started logging hours in 2012.  Had I started logging hours in 2010 when I first joined, I would be on my way to the 750 hour pin by now.

5years

This it the 5 year pin I received this year.  The ADS loves their pins. I like them, too.  I’m going to have to figure out a way to display them either on my jacket or somehow on my turnout if I get out to any ADS events in the future.

In the mean time, with winter still upon us, the horses are doing a whole lot of nothing.  I’m pretty convinced Chewbacca is bored.  I’m trying to come up with things to do with them that don’t involve slipping on ice or freezing.  In the mean time, I’m waiting on pins and needles for spring.  I have an idea in mind that will be fun to pursue and will definitely provide Luke and Chewbacca with some new challenges.  We’ll see how far we get with that.  So more on that later.

Dirty Chewie says have a nice day!

ChewieFeb2015

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

