Christmas Is In The Air

… or maybe not considering today it is 45 and sunny out in the Chicago area!  WOW!  I wish all winter was like this!  If I wasn’t working I would be out driving the horses!   It would be something to have the ability to work the horses all year.  I know it won’t last, though – a snow storm is expected on Christmas Eve.

Things have really wound down for the year and with nothing on the plate recently, I have nothing to report.  Except that, sadly, my camera has died.

It started with an issue earlier in the spring getting weird lines randomly intermittent across some of my images that look a little something like this:

badimage

I only see this on my files on the computer, not the in-camera preview.  Technically, the camera works fine, but there is something definitely going on with it transferring photos.  I’ve also noticed that there is a longer and longer lag time for it writing files to the card.

I’ve spoke with Nikon directly about the issue, and did what they suggested.  I’ve been in touch with numerous people from professional photographers to former camera repair technicians.  I’ve tried reinstalling my software, upgrading the camera’s firmware.  It is an intermittent issue.  Sometimes I take 30 photos and they are all good.  Sometimes 1 is bad, sometimes 10.  Sometimes all of them.  Sometimes I can recover them, sometimes not.

I spent the whole summer not quite sure if the issue was the camera, the computer, or my Photoshope software, but after upgrading everything I could, there is nothing left but to determine that the camera is dying.

It is going to be sent to the camera hospital after the holidays, which may end up turning into the camera morgue.  My photo snapping days…. seem to be over.

What a way to end 2014 😦

I wish you the best of the Holidays!

The horses say Ho Ho Ho!

ChewieDec2014 DixieJesseDec2014 LukeDec2014

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

