The Road I’ve Traveled

Map

Just a little app that showed up on my Facebook feed.   I have spent quite… QUITE… a bit of time recently thinking about the road of my life (thus far).  This fun little App seemed almost oddly appropriate for my current nostalgic frame of mind of late.

Like the beginning of Supernatural; this is “The Road So Far”.

It all started on a fateful day in 1979 back in Scranton, PA.
My travels took me to the great beyond of New York State, everywhere from Niagara Falls to Times Square.  I’ve been to Baltimore and to the wonderful Ocean City, Maryland, of which there is no other place that compares.  I’ve been to Virginia to the land of the first settlers, checked out Charlestown Track and Meredith Manor in West Virginia, I’ve been to Atlantic City and the other (non-comparable) Ocean City, New Jersey, I have been to Lexington, Kentucky, nearly took a job in Knoxville, Tennessee (at the University of Tennessee), and I have been to the Capitol and other sites, including the Smithsonian in Washington DC.  I’ve also been to the Ohio All American QH Congress in Columbus.

I have at the very least driven through North and South Carolina, vacationed once in Florida, and lived in Georgia, and now Illinois.  I also flew to Las Vegas once.  Since living in Illinois, I have been in Iowa, almost went to see the “Field of Dreams” field (yes, it’s a real place!), and I’ve been to Wisconsin and Indiana, too.

I guess I do not give myself for being well traveled.  I’ve been through or to 18 states, that’s pretty good, I guess.  About a third of the Nation.

I definitely have a lifetime goal of going to all the other states, and returning to a few of the previously visited ones like Kentucky, New York, and Maryland.  It will be hard, especially with a husband who always says everything is “too far” and no money to get there anyway.  But if I had my camera in hand, I’d be OK with that, and just hop in the car and go.  In fact, I think something like a backpacking trip around the country (or world!) with just my camera, plenty of charged batteries and SD cards, and some money) would be a fun thing to do!  I’m not sure how I can incorporate Chewbacca and Luke into that trip, but you know I’d try if I could.

I have recently looked into cheap (like $100 round trip) flights, and there are more of them out there than you might thing.  Could be fund to just show up at the airport one day and ask for a ticket on the next flight to wherever.  See where I end up, take camera, and make a day or weekend of it.

And speaking of roads traveled…. the horses won’t be travelling down any roads any time soon.  I had really hoped to squeeze in one (or two) last drives for the year, but I am deeply saddened to say the weather just isn’t cooperating.  At least I’m not in Buffalo!  But it’s been in the single digits here, or just barely in the teens, and extremely windy or cold.  This weekend we are expecting some freezing rain conditions; so looks like the horses have hit winter break a couple weeks early due to crappy weather.  Wonder if this means I’ll be back to driving in February again like I was in 2012, which was practically unheard of!

Looks like, with the end of the month quickly approaching, my year-end totals for recreational driving will be due, and I won’t be adding to them.  Guess I had better just send them out so they are into the ADS before 12/1.

Next year, since I broke my trailer and can’t afford any other ways to transport myself, I won’t be attending any shows, or trails at parks.  Very much a bummer, but it is what it is.

I DO plan (because I don’t know when to give up) to buy another pony.  If you were around for my Andy debacle, you know it did not go well.  Andy was a cute pony, and I feel bad he didn’t work out, but the next pony— even one intended to be a sale pony–will have to live up to “big brothers’ ” examples, and be as good as my current trio, else they just ain’t good enough.  Andy’s tendency to be fearful to the point of shaking, and desire to bolt, bronc out, and fall down, did not make him a good (and safe) resale driving prospect, in my opinion.  If I had my own place, I would have kept him, and worked him slowly over a year or more, which is what he needed, but alas, it is what it is.  My next pony (whose name will begin with a B!) will either be pretty much unhandled and unstarted or already safely driving.  One or the other.

 

But that’s all neither here nor there.  With the unpleasant weather coming up this weekend, I guess I’ll definitely be closing the books on driving for the year.   Year end totals will be up soon!

 

Have a safe and happy Thanksgiving, and remember all that you have to be grateful for!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

