The Definition Of….

I would like to take a moment and define a word.

That word would be …

Bullshitter

 

Definition:  A person who makes up stories, tells tales, spins yarns, and basically is full of shit.  see also  A person who says they will do something and never does

 

I know so many of these people.   How many do YOU know.  Everyone knows one.. or two… or three…

I can mention more particular accounts than I think one person should be able to.   Primarily the “see also” definition of my personal dictionary.

I am so sick and tired of people saying they will do things that they really have no intentions of following through with and at the very end, provide some BS excuse about why they lied to me in the first place.

I’ve mentioned several times over the year, that basically since March I have been told I could be a groom & gator for a competitor at the Kentucky Classic CDE next week in Lexington.  I was thrilled and had no reason to suspect that this person was a BS’er.

Here it is a week before the event, after having been in communication with this competitor up until about mid-August, confirming with this person that the event was still on the books.  I made a hotel reservation, saved every penny I could just to have gas $ to get there, put in time request from work (unpaid, mind you) so I could have the week off to attend the CDE, groom and gator for this person.

Finally a month ago, I begin to discuss how I need proper groom’s clothes, because I’ve never groomed at such a high level show before, so I have never even ridden along in a dressage test.  I don’t have a top hat, a livery jacket, a proper pair of tall boots.  Anyway, I’m not the competitor.  When I have had gators, I have provided the attire I wanted them to wear.  We had this whole discussion about my attire needs and what size I wear, and then I don’t hear back.  Ever.  I send messages, suggest we exchange phone numbers and provide mine…… nothing.  Just dead space.

Finally about 10 days before the show, I hear back from this person who says they never “got” my messages.  Unfortunately this person does not realize that on Facebook, when you view a private message, it will actually show the other person “seen” and what time/date.  So yea, messages were most definitely received.

Immediately, I know it’s a classic case of bullshititis and I know exactly what the next message is going to be – a lame excuse for why I will not be fulfilling an amazing opportunity to be part of a show team at a national level show.  I missed the entry deadline and have other clients that want to show at a different that weekend.  Maybe you can come groom for me in Florida.

Yea, I’ll get right on that.  Missed?  MISSED the deadline?  After telling me in March, July, an August that it was a go????

I call BULLSHIT.   And after breaking my trust this time, I’m supposed to what?  Magically come up with the means to get myself to Florida and follow this person around like a driving groupie or something?  Getting the funds together just to take a 7 hour  drive and 4 unpaid days off work was a challenge.

I have been led on and lied to since March, and one major highlight of my year was pulled away on a count that I was foolish enough to believe someone who clearly suffers from BULLSHITTER’S SYNDROME.

I prefer people in my life to be HONEST.  Don’t make an offer to me that you really have no intentions of following through on.   Be straight up, don’t lie and mislead, and put me in a situation where I have high expectations just to have them blown out of the water, and then add salt to the injury by offering something else unreasonable.

I wasn’t born yesterday.   Well, on the plus side, at least I have a nice little pad of saved money to put towards getting a pick up truck.   Although nothing I “plan” goes as planned, I do still hope that if things stick the way I hope they will, getting a used pick up next spring will not be so unrealistic.

And you can bet, if I ever am in need of a groom/gator for a CDE again, I will not bullshit whoever I ask, nor would I expect to say they can and then not show up.

 

In other news- the trailer that I destroyed will be having a funeral this weekend.  It is beyond repair. I  really did a number on it, and it is dead.  Estimates on repair exceed $1,000, and considering I could actually purchase a brand new trailer for around the same price, it would be pointless to repair.  Plus, if I’m investing $1,000 into anything, it’s going to be a truck so I can get myself out to shows/trails/events myself without having to rely on any bullshitters.

I did hear Bullshitters Anonymous is accepting applications.  I will be the one outside rallying with my 1-person picket sign that reads “Bullshitters Suck”.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Definition Of….

  1. RiderWriter says:

    Well, g-damn. I am really sorry that rotten person has let you down! I can’t imagine doing that to someone. I’m sure they know darn well how excited you were, that you’d made significant plans, it was difficult financially but you really wanted to go, etc. All I can say is people suck and there does seem to be a high percentage of BS’ers and flat-out liars in the horse world. Don’t know why but definitely true!

    I truly feel your hurt and disappointment.

    I think you should go to KY anyway, just to watch. I’ve had a great time doing that myself. Yes, you will be sad not to participate but just bring there would be fun – and who knows, you might find someone who needs help!

    • kshai1715 says:

      I did think about going just to watch. I *really* would love to just take the road trip and bring my camera and take photos of the lovely scenery.

      However, taking all the unpaid time off work just to go watch the show really doesn’t seem like a smart choice. As much as I would like to take the road trip for the sake of a road trip, better to wait, I suppose.

      I can promise you, though, next time I’m “offered” something, I will most likely decline, and this is why.

Leave a Reply

