Another Wildlife Photoshoot

The weather took a bit of  a turn and our warm summer quickly disappeared.  Amazingly enough, the temperatures dropped into the 60’s and Monday and half of Tuesday were full of rain.  … well at least that got me out of watering the garden 😉

I opted to give the boys Tuesday night off work and instead take photos.  The arena was too wet anyway and of course, the muddy goofballs were quite happy to run and play.

chewie2  chewie1

chewie3  luke2

luke1 luke3

I did not take any photos of the minis on this particular evening.  They just stood around at the gate to their paddock with a wishful look for cookies from me.  Not very interesting photographs, and getting them to run is way toooo challenging. I practically need 1 person in every corner and someone in the middle, too, to make them run.  lol!

So, after a little play time and down time with the boys, I ventured out to take photos of local wildlife.  I specifically went in search of hawks, but found none.  Before I even left the barn, I saw this butterfly flittering around.  I do love Monarchs.

butterfly1 butterfly2

The rest of my barn-area photographic adventure did not yield much.  I got a photo of a Monarch caterpillar, which I took with completely the wrong lens, of course, since I had my super long lens on to shoot birds.  I did manage to spook up a Great Blue Heron and a deer that were together down in a gulley where the stream runs along the horse trails, but I did not get any decent photos of them, save for the heron flying away.

caterpillar    gbh

… actually that heron photo really isn’t that bad.  at least he was at the right distance from the lens to be sharp.  lol!  just kind of wish he was facing the other way.

So, after walking nearly a mile around the trail at the barn, I headed off to a local park where there is usually at least *something* to be found to photograph.  This particular night “something” would be an understatement.

This lovely egret was sitting just off the shore, barely 40 feet from me, and he stood for a good long while.  I must have taken 50 photos of it.  No, I will not post them all, lol!  Here are a couple of my favorites.

egret1 egret2 egret3

Then I went from Great Blue Herons and Great White Egrets to something totally new for me!  Green herons!
I’ve never seen one live in person before, but I knew what it was because I had seen other people’s pictures of them.
Amazingly, there were green herons everywhere on this night… So I went from having never seen one before, to having a plethora of birds to photograph.  And even better, many of them were just happy to sit yards from the shoreline and not move, so I was able to get really nice images!

greenheron1 greenheron2 greenheron3

I have way too many green heron photos than I want to post here, so these were a couple of them that I really liked.   I am loving this 500mm lens for sure!

muskrat

That is a muskrat.  It was on an opposite shore line about 40 feet from me.  Somehow I managed to spook it, and as it retreated, it went for a swim, so I was able to snap a photo of it.  I have never really seen a muskrat live and in person either, and only had a few seconds to photograph it.  It was also in heavy shadows, so it was a bit of a challenge getting a decent shot.

Also in heavy shadows was this little dude….

squirrel1 squirrel2

I do not normally strive to photograph common critters at all, but he was so cute up in the tree munching on his acorn, I just had to take the shot.  Notice, in the right picture (blow it up by clicking on it), I even got his little front teeth.  Aw!  Cute!
have a great day!  More updates soon.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

