Impromptu Horse Show & 1st Fair Photo Results

Well, where to begin?  It’s just busy busy busy and even though I’m not (really) showing horses this year, and somehow my driving hours have tanked dramatically, I’m still running around like crazy and exhausted.

Seriously, usually by now, I have about 80 driving hours, and I will end the year with around 130 total.  This year, I have just barely over 50 driving hours, and I won’t even hit 80 before the year is out.  I guess that’s in part because I’m just not working the horses as hard since they aren’t showing.  I also think that they are all a little “too broke” if that’s possible.  At least, they’ve hit the point (or I have hit the point with them) where I can’t teach them anymore, but I just don’t know any more to teach them, so we just practice what we know, and I just don’t think they need as much work with that.  It’s been a very disappointing year in that I haven’t traveled anywhere with the horses, except for the one trail back in May, and I managed to get Jesse out to a show Sunday.
I really think Luke & Chewie could use a change of pace & scenery, because our trails and our roads have been so well traveled by them, I simply cannot provide them with anything new.

Anyway, part of my very busy summer included sending off photos to different fairs.  I got the results of one fair.  Another I should know Saturday and the last one, I won’t know until maybe the end of the month.

I received 2 1sts, 2 2nds, and 2 3rds in the local county fair.  6 ribbons out of 15 photos.  Wasn’t too bad.  I am actually a little disappointed, NOT in the ribbons I received, but just that I really question the judge’s decisions on some of the photos he did ribbon, in all categories.  I wasn’t there for the judging, so I don’t know, but apparently someone said the judge disqualified some images because he said they looked like they were professional photos.
Now, the fair is for amateurs only, so based on “the honor system”, it can be assumed that only amateurs are entering.  In addition, the photos are all anonymous.  The judge doesn’t see our names until after he’s awarded ribbons.   Some of the photos that were awarded ribbons were seriously questionable, and some of the ones that did not receive ribbons were also astounding.  There were some truly beautiful images there that got passed over, and apparently the ribbons were given to “lesser quality” images.?

Wait, isn’t it the point of an amateur to improve on their photography?  So over half of my images, I am left questioning why they were passed over… were they not good enough or were they too good?  I find the idea of them being “too good” hard to believe, but I do have serious questions about some of them.  One of my flower photos was raved about by a forum on FB full of professionals, and I thought for sure it would get a ribbon, and it did not.  TWO of the photos I entered just because I printed out extras, I thought were terrible… I didn’t even feel they should have been entered and I felt a little sick putting them up because they are so bad, and they both got ribbons.  In fact- they were BOTH my first place wins.

I find that this round of fair entries really left me scratching my head.  But none the less, I have been photographing away, already planning 2015’s entries.

On the last day of the fair, was a horse show with driving classes.  It’s one that I have never competed in, but Luke was in with my husband 6 years ago.  For a while after, they stopped holding driving classes due to low turn out.  Finally the driving classes returned and the fair is so close to the barn, I wanted to try to head over if I could.

The driving classes were the last of the day and based on how the show was running and what the show organizer told me, I thought if I got there by 3pm, that would be good.  I was anticipating that the driving classes would start between 5-6pm, and I was told earlier in the day that all the riding classes had strong turnout.

Apparently I wasn’t told that the classes were running smoothly to quickly!  We arrived at the showgrounds at 3:10 and the driving classes were in line waiting to start!  I got there when the class before the driving was just about finishing up.  You have never seen me run across a show grounds, register, run back, dress, and hitch so fast in my life!!!!!

I had about 8 minutes in total to sign up for classes, hitch and get into the ring.  We did not place in the first class, which I suspect had something to do with Jesse getting sassy during the line up and not wanting to stand.

The second class was a pleasure class and Jesse earned a 3rd out of 7.  After that was a fun and short cones class, and unfortunately, we went off course a bit, because Jesse attempted to dive around the outside of a cone instead of going through the cones, and we ran the cone over and dragged it with us for a while.  We got eliminated for that one.  Bummer.

But it was fun and I was glad to get out and show.  First time in a year that I’ve been in a show ring.

JesseMcHenryCoFair2014 Jesse1 Jesse2

I may have slightly better photos on the Nikon, which I gave to my husband.  I didn’t have time to set it up for him to use, though, and I have not yet had time to go through them and see if any of them came out.

Till next time!  Enjoy the day!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse, miniature horse, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impromptu Horse Show & 1st Fair Photo Results

  1. Pingback: 2014’s Fair Line Up and Final Results | Life in 2014

Leave a Reply

