More Photos

I have been as busy as busy can get recently, with back to back to back to back events, working all day and working horses at night.

Luke, Chewbacca, and Jesse are working hard or hardly working, lol.  They are doing wonderfully.

Chewie & Luke have nothing in the plans for the near future.   There *is* a small fun show I would like to take Chewie to, for a good experience with some different classes like cones, driving poles & barrels, and a few others, but I’m not sure I’m going to attend.
Jesse may have a show in less than a week.  So far, it seems like it’s on the books, but the classes are the last of the day, so time and of course weather, will be relevant factors.  I can’t show at 8pm and then expect to get up for work the next morning!  Because of course the show is Sunday. I DO want to go, so we’ll see.

Luke has an appointment at the vet tomorrow for a bit of a work up.  More on that later.

In the mean time, I went out and stretched my camera’s muscles, and put my new 500mm lens to work!  I got very lucky catching a couple of shots of some interesting animals!

Friday night I went out to a local state park that really is a favorite place of mine to go.  I would love to try camping out there overnight sometime.
Many times when I go, I am disappointed that I see very little in the way of animals, but Friday night was wonderful seeing all kinds of new critters that I have not seen at the park before.  In fact, one of them, I’ve never seen in my life!

Driving around, we spotted a gaggle of geese, and not far from them, something didn’t look quite right:

pheasant

Holy cow!  A pheasant… just walking along the road doing his thing!  Yay!

groundsquirrel

We pulled into a parking area and noticed a little critter rooting around in the grass.  Is it a chipmunk we wondered?  A ground hog?  A weird bunny with missing ears?
I had never seen a creature such as this little guy.  I was very happy to be able to get within a good distance (about 30 feet or so) and get some photos of him at 500mm.

Afterwards, I checked out Google and found that this critter is called a Thirteen Lined Ground Squirrel.  How about that?  A new one for me, for sure!

bunny

Standard issue rabbit.

egret egret2

Also got about 40 feet or so away from an egret  before I spooked him and he flew off.  Still got some nice pictures.

 

lamplight1 lamplight2

lamplight3 lamplight7

lamplight6  lamplight4lamplight5

Just a couple photos to share from the Grand Prix jumper event.   I love going to at least one of these a year.  This particular facility hosts 2, each a week apart.  The last week of July and into the 3rd week of August there are fairs running back to back on top of each other, and I’m going to try to attend at least 2.  Somehow I doubt I can make it to all 4, but I am going to try to do some photos and maybe  you will see a cow or two pop up.

On the way out of the showgrounds, I found a swallowtail in the horse path, sucking water, I assume, from the wet sand.

Such a pretty thing!

swallowtail

 

Have a great day and stick around for more updates!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse, Photography and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

