Horse Show Photos

As typical with me, no updates for a while and then updates every day.

Just wanted to share some of the photos from the show I volunteered at.  Just a couple pics of some of the competitors.  Another show on the agenda in 2 weeks.  Sure hope maybe next year I can actually compete at these myself!

donna1 fjord pair1 pair2 pony1 pony2 pony3

And just for good measure, forgot to post these yesterday.  The boys all working Sunday.

jesse1

Luke1

Chewbacca1

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Horse Show Photos

  1. allison says:

    I love your different colored lines for each horse! And the pair of Haflingers are cute. Is it weird to show them in a collar vs a breastcollar?

  2. kshai1715 says:

    No, it’s not unusual at all. Full collars are actually more appropriate for a 4 wheel vehicle than a breast collar.

  3. allison says:

    That is interesting, I did not know that. Although most of my driving experience has been draft style and not pleasure style, but the photos I see of the CDE events are mostly breastcollar harnesses.

  4. kshai1715 says:

    Yes, many people do use breastcollars for CDE. They are just easier to fit and more universal.

    The full collars are more suited to a 4 wheel vehicle due to the low line of draft. For dressage and then cones, the turnout is usually a tad more formal in CDE, so you will see horses working in full collars a lot more frequently, especially when put to a 4 wheel. Then, when you get to the cross country marathon, most people will switch out to a breast collar, less formal harness, and more flair/colors, or even costumes – all acceptable on marathon.

    Full collars have limitations in the marathon, because the speeds & turns can often result in rubs. However, they are still used and acceptable in marathon, and people especially at the lower level, or who can’t/don’t want to have 2 different harness styles, will just use what they have.

  5. kshai1715 says:

    That’s why I love Chewbacca’s Eurocollar- best of both worlds 🙂

  6. allison says:

    I would love to go to a CDE event! In Michigan, we have Metamora, which isn’t too far from me, but the weekends have been clashing with either trips or shows the past couple years. Those Eurocollars are cool, I have only seen them a couple times in person.

  7. kshai1715 says:

    I have not been to Metamora yet. Pretty far drive from me. About 6 hours. I’m on the books to go to Lexington in October, I need to save for that, lol. Hopefully one of these years I can go visit Metamora. I know what you mean about conflicts! It’s always tough trying to work out horse time in addition to “everything else” time. I usually try to make for horse time, but there’s only so much I can do.

Leave a Reply

