The Master of Would-Be Half Brained Ideas

Oh, it’s almost embarrassing all the half-baked silly ideas I’ve had over the years to earn a little extra side $… absolutely NONE of which really produced for me.  There are things I want in life very much – a truck & trailer being #1 on that list.  Of course I want a farm, but lets face it, a truck & trailer is more realistic out of the whole list of unrealistic desires I have.

2014 was going to be “my year”.  It was the year I was going to make thing happen.   Well, like so many other things that do not pan out in real life, at least I can say 2014 was the year ” I tried “, right!?

I’m still working through my list of goals, although they are always changing and evolving.  Maybe a truck & trailer fund isn’t so realistic for me this year, but a nice new long range zoom lens could be!

Unfortunately, Andy, the pony I brought home to (try) to train and resell, after 3 weeks, I came to the hard conclusion that he lacks the skills I need in a safe, trustworthy, driving pony.    Neither Chewbacca or Jesse were easy to train.  In fact, after spending 4 months teaching Chewie to drive, I said I was not going to train another one.   That didn’t last long when I decided a month later to crack out Jesse – which involved roping him to catch him.  I think I did OK with them both, in the end, didn’t I?  😉

I got my feet wet again with started but green horses when I spent a good part of 2013 adding miles and getting a rank Haflinger and a somewhat edgy Belgian a little further in their driving.   I have been itching to get a green pony again to train, and I guess I have very high standards as I look at Chewie & Jesse – not only what they are now as broke experienced horses, but also as what they were when they knew nothing about how to even long line.

Andy did not meet my needs, and I went with my gut on him (which I so often ignore) and decided not to press his driving work.  He was already broke to drive, I was told, but he was very fearful, to the point of panic and bolting (and falling down) about having shafts on him.  Thankfully I have fake shafts for this very reason.  A broken $2 piece of PVC is much better than a destroyed cart or a hospital bill!

Since this was going to be my first resale project, with the intent of selling the pony on to a new (potential beginner) owner, and given his fear, shaking, and panic, about the movement, feel and sight of poles on him, I opted to return him to the seller, so he is gone.
And with him, also gone is the notion of getting another project pony (at least this year) because it’s already July.

Such are the struggles of someone working to support her horse habit and show desires without a second income in the household.  Such a bummer, but I press on.  I remain undeterred, though – I am still eyeing up pony sale ads, and already thinking about getting one in the spring.

I had a lot of fun working this one on the long lines – I absolutely LOVE long lining, and watching Andy work, learn, and evolve on the lines was super cool and super rewarding.  Next year I will hope to find a pony that can handle “step 2”, pole dragging, in a safe manner without panic, after weeks and weeks of prep time.

Chewbacca and Jesse both turned out exemplary.  Neither of them became fearful of their intended job – sure they had moments of confusion, but never outright panic, kicking, running, spinning, rearing, bolting…  And both have gone to do anything and everything under the sun.  I realize they (and Luke) are exemplary equines and truly something special, but I also believe what I ask isn’t too hard and there should be no reason I can’t get a project pony to bring along that can do it.  Like any good partnership, it has to be the right partner and not just for me – for whoever would buy him.  I’ll just keep an eye out – in the mean time, I think a new lens is in order, so more on that after a particular eBay auction ends.

In addition, I have some different plans for hauling myself to shows, since clearly saving the required $$ to buy a Yukon and a new horse trailer is a long, long, long, long, long shot.  It was never in my plans to buy a truck (and trailer) this year.  It was always my plan to use this year to save and spend my horse time training a new one, and volunteering at shows – and I am doing exactly all of those things.  Well, OK the training did not pan out, but I’m still saving (although I’m going to splurge some of those savings on a very expensive lens), and I’m volunteering at shows.

In fact, I have a show to volunteer at tomorrow, so expect photos! Possibly I will compete in 2 actual shows in August… heat dependent.  The heat is killing me!!!!  Talk about sucking the life out of me.  Yikes.

I am also going to try to get some firework photos off the lake tonight, if I have the energy, and I’m taking a little field trip for the 4th – so the next couple days will provide a ton of photography practice.

Stay tuned!

 

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Master of Would-Be Half Brained Ideas

  1. Pingback: Massive Photo Overload | Life in 2014

Leave a Reply

