Six Month Driving Hours

I can barely believe what a year this has been so far, AND that it is more than halfway done, too! Yikes!

I recently counted up my driving hours so far for the year, and they are quite sad.  My ADS hours are due in November, and I only needed 7 more hours to hit my 250 hour goal, so I do have that.  Normally, I manage to get in about 120-130 driving hours each year between March/April through November when I stop for the year.

Having 3 single driving horses helps with that!  LOL!  No shortcuts in my driving hours by hitching up multiples.  I have to take everyone out by themselves, and sometimes (when I start early enough and have the time) I will take them all out for 45-60 minutes.  That’s a LOT of driving in one day, and it’s rare that I do it — and it shows.

So far, I’m at only 30 hours this year.  At this rate, it is highly unlikely that I will even hit 100 hours this year, let alone 120 or 130.

That is a bit of a bummer, knowing that I am literally not spending as much time with my horses as I would like to, but I am still spending that time productively and working, working, working!  Working towards goals as always… and speaking of goals…..

My little annual “tradition” that it seems to be becoming is to do a 6 month re-check on my goals for the year and see if I have achieved any of them.  So, here goes – from January 1 post:

* Volunteer at some or all of the regional ADS shows

– Columbus Sleigh Rally  – Done!  Fun!  COOOOLD, but Fun.
– Notara Farm HDT (July) – on the  books!
– Hickory Knoll CDE  –  still to come (July)
– Indiana CDE   — probably not, it’s like a 5 hour drive.
– Villa Louis Carriage Classic  – Still to come (September)
– Columbus Carriage Classic — unfortunately that is this Father’s day weekend, and I cannot manage to get out there.
– Skunk River HDT –  Maybe?…
– Kentucky Classic CDE  –  still on the books!  Fingers crossed!!! This one is in October.
– National Drive — the week following the KY Classic – probably not going to happen.

* Possibly volunteer at some local shows that I used to compete at, too
– Spring Grove
– Boone Co 4H show

Well, I have not yet helped out at Spring Grove.  The Boone Co. Show falls on the same day I’m already booked as a volunteer elsewhere, so that’s out too.

 

* Buy a project sale pony, train to drive, and resell
* Buy a truck
* Buy a trailer

Well… I did get the project pony, now to get him trained and sold.  The truck & trailer probably won’t be on the docket this year, but I sure am keeping my fingers crossed for next year.

So… all in all, I would actually say I’ve met my goals so far for this year, because a lot of the shows don’t occur until the 2nd half of the year.  I was able to convince my hubby to get me out to 1 park this year, so that was awesome to go to!

I guess on my “goal” list I did not mention anything about photography, but I have certainly been managing to hit those goals, too.  I’ve purchase 2 new lenses this year, and a bunch of filters, add ons, and attachments.  I’m entering the largest number photos ever into 3 fairs this year, which is totally new for me:

1 entry to the Illinois State Fair
15 entries into the Wisconsin State Fair
15 entries into the McHenry County Fair.

I’m really looking forward to seeing if I get any results from that.  I’ve been getting out on to nature walks once, if not twice a week.  I’m trying to get out in the early mornings as well as the evenings.  I’ve actually left the house at 430am to go shoot photos.  I’m playing with macro photography and trying to get a little more into landscapes, too.  I just need to find some new locations!

I have plans to photograph at one horse show before June is out.  I’m not sure I have time to do more than 1, but I’ll try if I can.

I also need to add to my goal list that I would like to try to get Andy ready for a show on August  3rd.  Given that he is already broke to ride & drive, I don’t think this is a stretch.  If I’m going to sell him as a show pony, I would like to get him to at least 1 show before I list him!

And, without further ado, here are some photos of all the horses (no not together, they have not met yet).

Andy having a good roll after unloading:

andy1 andy2

 

 

And the rest of the bunch playing around in the arena over this past weekend:

chewie chewie2 dixie dixie2 Jesse jesse2 luke&chewie luke lukenchewie sayinghi

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Month Driving Hours

  1. Jamie says:

    Did Dixie slim down or is it just an optical illusion now that she has less hair? She looks like she might be feeling a little more spunky too. 🙂

    • kshai1715 says:

      Lol, thanks for noticing! It’s been long overdue that she went on a little diet. It’s much easier to get weight off her than Luke, but I’m still at it with him, too.

      Dixie also looks extra slim because she’s clipped. It’s amazing how much fuzz she can fluff up!

      She’s sassy as ever. Believe me, getting her to move was no easy task. A few times she really made some po’ed faces and tail twitches , even bucked, which would have made for great photos had I not been too busy chasing her.

Leave a Reply

