A Perfect Spring Day for Driving

I got a bright start to the weekend and in lieu of Mother’s Day activities (which were commenced on Saturday instead), I was at the barn by 6am to get the boys out driving.   This very short video pretty much sums up my day:

In case you’re interested, total drive was 7.66km (4.7 miles) and he completed it in 59:05.  We did a little bit walking, but mostly we trotted.  That’s not an amazing time, but it is our typical road time, approximately 5 miles an hour.  I don’t want him doing “marathon speed” (7-8mph) on the road, because that’s just too much impact and concussion, I feel.  Besides, it was as picture perfect as a day could get and I wanted to enjoy every second of it.  Chewbacca returned to the barn with nearly no sweat at all.  Talk about a fit horse.    When I have time, I need to start getting him working in the 8-10 mile range.

Luke was up next (no vid), and we opted for a drive on the trails.  All totaled, we spend about another hour working with grass under our hooves & wheels.

And finally, Jesse went out in the beautiful morning weather as well.  Jesse did his farthest drive from the barn, and did another hour driving.  Of course, little Jesse doesn’t cover as much ground as his bigger kin, so he only did about 2 miles in all that time!  That’s why I usually don’t take Jesse too far from the barn.  If I tried doing a 4-5 mile drive with him, I’d be out all day.  None the less, he was perfect, although he did have his first experience with the nearby farm’s goats, sheep, donkey, and barking boxer.  I had to get out and do a little hand walking as I expected, once I got back in, Jesse was a bit nervous, and did bolt into someone’s yard (sorry about the hoof prints on your lawn!), but he only strayed about 30 feet or so, and then it was all over.  On the return pass, he handled it pretty darned well, I have to say.

Nearly 3 hours of driving on a beautiful morning?  What could be better??

 

…. well, maybe if I had a few more horses to work 😉

Enjoy the day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

