Spring finally arrived!

I sure do hope it came to where ever you are, too! This past weekend was really the first full weekend of good weather we’ve had all year. Last weekend, of course I did get all the boys out for a drive, and the weather was quite nice at least on Sunday. This weekend, Saturday was amazing, and Sunday started out a little windy and cool, but the sun finally came out and it was just a lovely day.

I kind of kept to the same schedule as last week, and worked only Jesse on Saturday.  It’s a little easier to break them a bit, and only work 2 a day.  I just need another pony to make in an even number, so I can work 2 each day.  lol.  We’ll see about that.

JesseApril2014

And Jesse was of course simply amazing.  He did a little jaunt down the road and worked well at a great pace.

It will always amaze me how they can be off for 4 months and then go back to it like it’s nothing.

ChewieApril2014

And speaking of going back to it like it’s nothing, Chewbacca was out to truly wow me on Sunday afternoon when I got him out for his drive.  I chose to work the boys in the arena, and I had the barrels set up.  Boy I wish I got some better pics or video.  Chewbacca worked so well in a nice long & low headset, rounded up when I asked, offered up a canter, executed 2 amazing pivots that were practically on the spot in both directions ~ I’m so glad that rein yielding (I can’t call it “leg yielding” now can I??) is paying off.  I didn’t ask for much in the way of bending, but we did do some circles, figure 8’s, and serpentines, along with just working on keeping a nice inside bend on the rail.

LukeApril2014

And of course, Luke.  What can I say about Luke… he’s just super.  Although he is actually harder to bend than Chewbacca, (Luke counterbends an awful lot).  He was fantastic, though and by the end of the drive, he was bending correctly. Of course it’s only early in the driving season, so yes, I can expect a little bit of “rust”.

Luke also received a present:

PairsHarness

It’s a pairs harness!  Yes, there are 2!  One for him, and one for his “imaginary friend”, or that 4th pony……  I fit them both to him and they both fit lovely.  I really can’t complain.  Right now, they’re packed back up and stored away, and hopefully someday if I get a 2nd hackney pony and a marathon carriage, harnesses I will have!

Why buy pairs’ harness without a pair or carriage to put them to ?  Why not!  I got a great deal.

This weekend wasn’t just a weekend of horses – I got a TON of projects done around the house and even to my car that were much needed.  It felt great to have wonderful weather and get so many things accomplished!

This coming weekend is the Midwest Horse Fair, an annual tradition of mine, except for 1 year I did miss.  The weather is supposed to be nice, and I am really looking forward to going!

 

Have a great day.

 

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

