First day of spring

….. and it’s barely 32 degrees out.

I have to say, it certainly *feels* like the longest and coldest winter on record. And although everyone is saying that is one of the coldest winters in the last 30 years, it isn’t technically “longer” than any other winter. It just *feels* longer because it’s been so darned cold for so long, and everyone is sick of it.

I *feel* like I’m never going to get the horses working again, but then I have to remind myself, I didn’t get my first hitched drive in last year until March 24, 2013. So, I still have a couple days. It was also only 28 that day. IF the weather holds out the way they say it will, I will hope to hitch the boys up this weekend, so I’ll actually get my first drive in a day or two before last year’s first drive.

That’s my way of reminding myself that I’m still “on track” for starting them into work, and I still will have a full 8 month driving season ahead of me. I’ll be able to hit my 7 hours that I need to make 250 hours for the American Driving Society pretty quickly, at least before March is out (assuming the weather cooperates). The ADS gives pins and a brief story & photo in their beautiful professionally published newsletter each February, for drivers who accrue 100, 250, 500, 1000, and 5000 recreational driving hours. It’s a very nice program, and it’s nice to have something fun to work towards, and reminds me to keep accurate logs of when I drive Chewbacca, Luke, and Jesse. I drove 133 hours the first year I started keeping the log for the program (2012), and in 2013, I managed to get only 110 hours — missing that 250 mark by only 7 hours! lol! I guess you can blame the weather.

At that rate, it will be a few more years before I officially hit the 500 hour mark, but considering that I spent half of 2011 driving Chewbacca and Jesse, not to mention Luke and Dixie, plus the drives I’ve put on Dixie & Luke in the years prior to that, I’m probably realistically pushing close to the 500 hour mark in actuality. As of now, though, I have 243 logged hours recorded.

I think I need to get more ponies — what do you think? Of course, if I get pairs, it still only counts for hours driven (not times how many horses you’re driving at one time)!!

Well, I have absolutely nothing fruitful to talk about today, only wanted to share my dismay at the weather on this not-so-fine first day of spring. Well, I guess at least I *can* see sun, so there’s that.

All the little stones I am laying have pretty much come to a screeching halt for the moment because there’s no activities to participate in until May!!!

My book is available on Amazon and I’ve been marketing it as best I can… you may see an ad for it online on the AQHA website, or the Midwest Horse Fair website. An ad on the RFDTV site should be running soon, too.

The Midwest Horse Fair is in less than a month, and although I can’t wait for it, I question what the weather will be like this year for it! Every year it’s an adventure and anyone’s guess. I’ve gone some years in shorts, and other times bundled up against the wind and snow. Given the way the weather’s been…. I’m guess cold again!

Once May hits, things will get rolling (hopefully) and the horses will be back into a full work schedule, which will hopefully be 3 days a week, although I have played with the idea of taking them down to only 2 days per week to help alleviate some of my work load and hopefully not be so ragged tired all the time.

Although there’s a small show in April, there’s nothing I am planning to attend, because of course my horse showing goals this year are going to be a little…. different.
Things really start up in May, and I plan to attend at least one small, local show to volunteer, or possibly try to sell horse treats at.

In June, I do believe there is one ADS combined event, and I think one other somewhat large local driving show that I can go volunteer at.
By July, I will be jumping to go volunteer at the Hickory Knoll CDE and camp out there!
August there aren’t any shows, but September comes back into gear with 2 large shows, both about 3-5 hours away. Hmm… we’ll have to see what I can do there 😉
Then as the year winds down, October is going to be the best month with plans to attend the Lexington Classic CDE at the Kentucky Horse Park and navigate for a competitor there, and then go right back down the following weekend for the National Drive. At this point, I am not sure if I will attend the ND as a spectator or a volunteer, but I have time to plan that out more.

Really looking forward to this year, looking forward to getting the boys out and working again. I am a little sad that circumstances just aren’t right to get another pony at this point, so my plans for a resale training project are pretty much out the window…. and along with it … the idea of getting a truck & trailer of my own, which means my horse showing wishes will be on hold permanently, but that’s OK because if I can fill that horse show void in my life with volunteering, that could lead to great things!

For now, the only great thing I am hoping for ….. is spring!

Enjoy the day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

