Dashing Through The Snow

It was as pretty as a Christmas card this past Saturday, and a wonderful day for the annual sleigh rally.   Check off #1 of my goals/plans for 2014 – volunteer at Columbus Sleigh Rally

SleighRally6I was the ring master/judge’s assistant and time keeper.  I spent about 6 hours helping out and keeping the competitors organized, in addition to timing the cones course.  The high for the day hit 11, when I arrived in the morning it was 4.  Amazingly, I wasn’t cold.  In fact, I got a work out walking all over the park and shouting out “ALL WALK” or “ALL TROT” as the pleasure drive class went on. SleighRally27There were turnouts of every size, and 2 commercial draft-pulled bob sleds giving public rides.  There were ponies, horses, mules, and drafts, in singles, pairs, and even a 4 abreast.  SleighRally11The classes including a pleasure drive class, a “cross country” class in which a local senior center’s residents on the course judged the “Currier & Ives” turnout, a cones course (the “cones” were cute little pine trees, and skijoring racing … complete with a local police officer using radar to time the horses.  The winner galloped along at over 20mph!  Wow!

SleighRally14

The variety of sleighs and sleds there were quite a feast to the eyes, and with a Breyer model horse show going on in the 2 story pavilion, food inside, and more than a dozen horses & sleighs and sleds outside to look at, there was a lot of activity.

SleighRally19 SleighRally25And… did you ask “what the heck is skijoring?”…  well …. check it out!

sleighralley30 SleighRally31Ha.  I thought getting pulled by Chewbacca on the sled was a hoot and about the “craziest” thing I’ve done.  I can’t even imagine SKIING behind a horse.  Yes there wipe outs, but it was a good time.

And… I got my “picture of the day” with a skijoring turnout:

SleighRally35

HA!  Love it!

 

It  was a great day, beautiful weather, and lots of fun. 

After the event, I took a trip to a carriage builder only a few blocks away.  I’ve been wanting a carriage from them for years.  The first vehicle I liked from them, I’ve posted a few years ago – costs $12,000.  The new carriages they just started building are sleek, balanced, and beautiful, and the pony size that I would want is about $8000…. we’ll see if maybe I get that winning lotto ticket someday!  In the mean time, it was awesome to just look around and peruse the new and used vehicles and those that needed refinishing.

Some of the ones I liked the most were ones in need of some refinishing.

Frey1 Frey2 Frey3 Frey4 Frey5

It was a great day!  I’m looking forward to the next event, which is going to be the Midwest Horse Fair in April.

This winter has been long, cold, and really a challenge.  I think this snow may not go away until May, but I sure do hope, with the longer days and *slightly* warmer temperatures coming, that I can get the boys out to work a little – and maybe do more sledding!

 

Until then!  Have  a great day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dashing Through The Snow

  1. Dom says:

    I want to go to a sleigh rally!

Leave a Reply

