11-12-13 : A Day of Driving Awesomeness

I have to admit, the significance of today’s date never even occurred to me until I heard something on the radio about it.   In fact, they were saying how today is a popular date for weddings, as is next year’s date of 12-13-14 in December.  Hmm..

I don’t know about any of that, but today was indeed an awesome day spent driving and driving horses!  The morning started out quite cold after yesterday’s first snow accumulation.  But, in the 25* temps, I started out the morning with driving Leo the 7yr old Haflinger I’ve been driving for a few months.

Here he is trying to figure out what that horse in the mirror is looking at. leo1

And, out in the snow, Leo made a beautiful sight against the snow and dark trees.  He really is a lovely looking guy.leo2 leo3

I set up my little cones and did a whole course.  We were not without the running them down, but Leo is doing marvelously well and has improved so much over the last few months.  The first time I drove him was on August 15, so it’s been almost 3 months that I’ve been trying to drive him once a week.  He’s come a long way in that short time, and can go wonderfully soft and flexed, and has begun in the last couple drives to work a little on canter, now too.leo4I am very lucky to be able to get out and drive other horses, it really helps you grow as a driver or a horse person in general to get a feel for other horses, especially when those horses are younger than you’re “comfortable” with and green to boot.  Leo is not without his personality quirks, which are getting better, but he can still be a headstrong brute.   Leo has so much power that when he decides he’s going somewhere…. he’s going, and you’re going with him.

It took 2 months for these horses’ handler to convince me to drive Dexter.  I introduced Dexter back in another post, the first time I drove him, just in the beginning of October.  To recap, Dexter, who is also a 7 yr old, is a 17+h Belgian, and is also green to drive.    Who’d have thunk that in just a few weeks, having only driven him a few times, I would just up and decide to hook him up a 4 wheel carriage with seats taller than him.

This was so very much fun!!!!

dexter1

dexter2Getting the opportunity to do this (I think it was his first time hitched to a 4 wheel vehicle)!  This is only my 2nd time driving a 4 wheel carriage.  The first time was with a pair of Haflingers during the annual ADS meeting in 2012.  That was a marathon vehicle.  I’m not sure what this type of vehicle is called, but it very much reminds me a presentation carriage.

Here is a view from the box with Dexter:

And here is a video from the ground!

And although the temps today never got above 30, it was actually really a nice day with the wonderful sun shining down over the glittery layer of the first snow of the year, and despite being outside all day, I still headed off to the barn and got in a drive with Chewbacca as the sun set.

 

Chewbacca 11-12-13

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in draft horse, Driving, horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

