Gypsy Cobs!

 

 

I have a secret love affair with Gypsy Cobs.   Yes, of course it’s because they are colorful, hairy, and pretty.  Which is pretty much the same reason nearly everyone in America loves them.

There are breeders in the U.S. that breed the “Gypsy Vanner”.  In England, they are known as Cobs, and the purest of the breed are known as Proper Cobs.  Gypsy Vanner is apparently a U.S. given name that the Gypsies don’t approve of.

I learned a lot about the breed recently after getting the opportunity to meet one (finally) up close.  I’ve admired Gypsy Cobs from a distance – through pictures, and even at the Horse Fair, but seeing them in an arena, or looking at them through a stall grate isn’t quite the same as really handling one.

Someone I know owns a young Gypsy filly, and I was really overwhelmed when I got to meet her!  Then, to add to it, I got to take a bit of a drive and meet a breeder who is working towards creating the American Miniature Gypsy .

I took a bunch of photos, and I really enjoyed meeting these horses up close!  They are so incredibly mellow, sweet, social, and smart.  There’s so much more to them than just good looks!  Wow!  What a breed.

But, speaking of good looks;  here’s some pictures….

gypsy1 gypsy2 gypsy3 gypsy4 gypsy5gypsy6

Have a great day!  I’ve got lots going on this week and into August up to the CDE .  So hopefully I will be updated more frequently.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gypsy Cobs!

  1. Dom says:

    I only know one gypsy cob, but he is a ton of fun to work with. I recently started jumping him and he’s the most comfortable little thing. TONS of personality. I’m glad I don’t have to be the one that tries to keep him clean though…

Leave a Reply

