Horse Show Day!

It was a truly wonderful weekend.  The weather was fantastic, and there was a great horse show to attend.  What more could anyone want?!

This was a show for Jesse and Luke.  And I got to try out my new driving outfit!  Woot woot.

I found this really bold black & white jacket that I loved.  It’s a little much for me with the big bold pattern, but I just kept eyeing it and finally decided if I liked it that much I should just buy it!  Plus, it goes beautiful with the new hats I bought.  Wow, it’s *almost* like I’m a pleasure driver, or something.  Maybe not quite, but I’m getting there!

 

JesseBooneCo 7-6-2013 2

JesseBooneCo 7-6-2013 3

LukeBoone Co 7-6-2013 2

LukeBoone Co 7-6-2013

 

Jesse was a superstar!  And of course Luke was perfect as always  🙂  Luke actually placed a little lower than usual, hm…..  He won one class, got 2nd in another, and got completely over looked in the third.  Yikes.  Not sure what happened there, when he was as beautiful and perfect as usual. lol.  I’m not used to Luke not getting ribbon!  lol!

On the other hand – Jesse and I have done 4 shows together now since last year, and the only time we get ribbons are when there’s only 6 people in the class.  Lol.  We did win a reinsmanship class last year out of 5.

This show, though, was a real treat for me and a great experience for Jesse.  Our first class was a pleasure class for Junior horses.  Jesse did not pin in that one, and with only 9 in that class, I was NOT hopeful for a ribbon in the mini pleasure – with 21 entries.  Guess what?!  We got 6th!  Hey, it’s the last place ribbon, but to be even NOTICED in a class of 21 was a real treat for me!  The winner of the class was a fully turned out (suit and all) breed circuit driver with a very fancy mini in a fine harness with no breeching, complete with a basket-style Jerald jog cart and all.  So there was some mighty fine competition.
We also placed 5th of 7 in a pleasure class for Junior driver.  So all and all, truly a good show with “real” placings!

In that last class, we were in there with a big percheron !  At one point this gigantic 18+ hand draft passed us!  lol!  Jesse just looked at him, cool as a cat, like he’d done it a hundred times.  Wow!  Who could ask for more!

It was a good show!

The next show is on the books allllllll the way out in August.  I can’t wait – and it will be double fun because not only is it an HDT, but I am showing BOTH Luke and Chewbacca!  (Which is great since I have 2 new driving hats 🙂  )

However, our next event is actually coming up in a week.  We are heading back to the living history farm IN FULL COSTUME !!!  I can’t WAIT!  I have my big civil war skirt and bonnet and I’ve been making my husband’s 19th century style costume.  It’s almost done, and we are looking forward to a fun Saturday in costume with the horses – talk about a cool opportunity!  I hope to get pictures!

Have a good one  .

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

