Tricks and Tarps

I have to say, I absolutely love my new lens!  Whooo!  I can finally take a decent photograph indoors (yay to me!)

I also purchased a remote shutter release for the camera, and put it to use today with my boys in my first attempt to do “self picture taking”.  Didn’t quite come out as well as I’d hoped….

It was rather windy, so I took a tarp and battened it down under some barrels, and worked on tarps and tricks today.  They will drive tomorrow, and we will be looking forward to driving over the tarp in the next few days.

Last year, they were all w/t/c over the tarp, but they haven’t seen it since at least July that I can recall.  So I took advantage of my limited time today, and my new photography toys, to do a brief in hand session with everyone.

Unnnnfortunately, I failed to activate the trigger for getting a picture of Chewbacca’s (AWESOME!) bow (three times, mind you).  I’m so proud of him, and I think he’s a little proud of himself – he has “mastered” the bow a couple weeks ago, finally supporting himself on one knee.  Yay!  And of course, I missed it on camera.

But here, is what I do have, and yes, he is filthy.  My new lens captures sharp, crisp images – with every grain of mud embedded onto him in ultra fine detail.  Lol.

Practicing Spanish Walk:

ChewieSpWalk1 ChewieSpWalk2

Then, walking on the tarp (with no problems)ChewieTarp1

….and Spanish Walk on the tarp.ChewieTarp2

After this, I proceeded to work Luke, and somehow I had my focus off although I tested the shots before I got him out.  Anyway, the pictures were all a blur, so clearly *I* need more practice with my remote release.

Luke did his Sp. Walk, Bow, and tarp, and worked a little again on in hand piaffe.  He is Soooooo close, but it’s just not happening (yet).  We’ll get there.

Afterwards, it was Jesse’s turn to battle the blue monster.  Jesse had some serious tarp-reluctance last year, but we did ultimately get him pretty comfortable working over it.  I didn’t know how well that would translate over to this year, but I was happily amazed by what a good boy he is.  He walked right on like a champ, and again, my focus was off!  UGH!  So, pictures were a fail.  At least Chewie’s came out 😉  I also worked on shaking the tarp and flapping it up and down, so Jesse can get comfy with it, and ultimately, wear it.

Before my dudes got their (blurry) photo op, I went off to visit some Saddlebreds – and try out my ultra awesome lens in an indoor again!

bravo3 looking2 mareandfoal mareandfoal2

Enjoy!

 

and have a good one!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tricks and Tarps

  1. Dom says:

    This makes me want a remote shutter so badly…

Leave a Reply

