My How the World Works….

Well, it’s been a little while since I posted.  Not much has happened lately.

Chewbacca developed an abscess and spent the better part of the time since my last posting lame and recovering.  I expect to take him out a nice trail drive tomorrow with the GoPro on my head (also known as my “third eye”), so I may make a brief video.  Of course, after 2 weeks off, the drive could be …. interesting .  lol.

Luke and Jesse and of course Dixie, too, are all doing well.

Strange how I had hoped to do several shows/events this year – in fact I had 12 of them on my tentative calendar.  Once I ruled out weather, and financial impossibility, that list got quickly whittled down to 3 shows.  Woo hooo.

In April, I missed out on a clinic with Chewbacca due to rain.  He simply was not in work enough to justify going to do a grueling 45 minute lesson.  A small show also came and went in April.

Next week is a small show, which I had initially planned to take Jesse to.  Unfortunately, he does not have a coggins yet, and with Chewbacca having had time off due to lameness…. well, that show is down the tubes, too.

To the point, my first show of the year will end up being with Chewbacca in August.  I *do* plan on showing both Luke and Chewbacca at the show.  A fleeting thought would be that I show Chewbacca and Jesse, and my husband shows Luke.  Hmm….  Doubtful.  But sure would fun.  Also interesting to haul 3 horses when we only have a 2 horse trailer.  lol.  Do you think I could convince my husband to spend 4 hours hauling back and forth to the show in multiple trips?  lol!

I also was sick last week, which put a little damper on me working the horses.  And lastly and most recently in the crazy events that are my life, just yesterday, my husband and I took a little trip to Chicago.  Since we would be gone most of the day, we dropped our dog, Kira, an 8 1/2yr old Shepard Husky mix, off to hang out with her “cousin” (the In Laws’ dog).

Well, in a moment of crazy happy running minutes after we returned to pick Kira up, she suddenly yelped wildly and wimpered repetitively.

Can you guess what happens to a 65# dog that runs too hard ?

If you guessed that she tore her ACL, you’re correct.  Having been a vet tech for nearly 10 years, I knew immediately what had happened.  I also knew that it would be a good $1200 in surgery.

Well, those figures were a little outdated, since I haven’t been in small animal practice in about 10 years.

After a $540 emergency vet bill, we received a $2000 surgery estimate.  Yea, we have that kind of money just sitting around.  Sigh.

Kira goes into surgery on Tuesday, which also happens to be mine & my husband’s 9th anniversary.  Happy Anniversary to us!  Yikes.

Kira currently looks like this:

kira

She will be as such for several long weeks, although after surgery, she will hopefully start to at least toe-touch the foot to the ground.  Poor girl.

And in other news, the Powerball tonight is something insane like $600,000,000.  Who needs that kind of money?  I mean, you know I have my ticket(s), and I am praying to whatever Lottery God I have to pray to, but I think $600mil is a little more than I am hoping for.  Right now, I’m looking to get $2,500!  lol!

We also attended a WWII reenactment today, which was quite fun, but tiring.  Apparently, I am having serious heat-exhaustion issues, and I nearly passed out today when the weather got too warm.  This happened only once last year, during the drought, and I am a little concerned about it happening so easily in only 80* temps.  :/

With rain in the forecast early on in the week, and a horse show on the “bust” list for next weekend, we will see what other adventures we can come up with!  Hopefully , if any of them involve another $2,500, it will be because I’ve bought another pony(ies).

Til then!

– I expect to be $600,000,000 richer in the morning 😀

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

