FIRST DRIVE OF THE YEAR!

Yay!  I finally got to the first drive of the year!!  I was out ground driving last week  in 22* weather.  When I got to the barn Saturday morning, it was around 28 and sunny,  plus with no wind, it felt really warm.  In fact, I took my jacket off  (of course, I had 2 long sleeves including a turtle neck and underarmour and 2 pair pants and gloves and a head cover, ,lol)…

I was “just” going to ground drive, but I decided I wasn’t go to freeze if I took them out for a little jaunt, so I hitched them up and off we went.

First out was Chewbacca trying out his new EuroCollar for the very first time hitched.  (he long lined in it earlier in the week).  I LOVE that collar.  Granted, it is designed a little more for a low-draft vehicle (I have a meadowbrook), but Chewie seemed to really move forward a little easier.  Maybe it was just early-spring forwardness, or maybe it was that he liked the collar.  Either way, I loved how he drove.  A nice easy 2 1/2 miles pretty much just walking with only a little trot, made a great (and surprisingly warm) first drive of the spring!  And even though he hadn’t seem them in 4 months or a little more – he passed the farm down the street with the 3 donkeys, 12 sheep, and 6 goats and 2 annoying barking and jumping boxers pretty darn easily.  Not too shabby for the first time out this year!

Next up was Luke, but since I had an engagement a little later in the afternoon, time was running short.  Plus, since Luke went into grain stealing mode all winter, he’s …. well….. a little rotund (I had to buy a bigger girth!), and not in shape.  So with time running short and fitness on the list of things to be desired, Luke got in a good 1 1/2 mile walk.   Luke’s plan for the next 6 weeks is walking drives until he loses some of his chunk, and goes back to being the slim and fit hackney we know and love 😉

I sure do hope the weather holds out from here!  Next week is looking pretty sharp!

Made my day to get back to driving.  I ran out of time to drive Jesse, so I’m hoping to start him back during the week, or next weekend.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

