All I Can Say…. Karma is a … Well, You Know…

Yesterday was a pretty shocking day, and it really does come down to Karma.

The place where my husband used to work… He worked there for 4 years, through his sinus cancer issues, and complained about nauseating fumes from the factory (where they make paint), making him sick.    That’s the short version, and I won’t go into long details.Anyway, when he was getting so sick with severe headaches last year and we couldn’t figure out why, my husband was seeing several medical professionals for treatment, and even ended up hospitalized… a few days after he got his letter of termination from his workplace.

My husband always complained of unsafe and unhealthy work conditions there…. and yesterday, the place exploded.

Yes, exploded.

It didn’t just catch on fire or burn down.  It blew up.  Part of the factory was blown out into the street – and this is a BIG factory – so it was a huge deal.

Hazmat teams had to come in with special foam to supress toxic chemicals, and the fire took 4 hours to extinguish.  It’s one of the biggest stories in the local news right now.

Unsafe work conditions, anyone?  How’s that for Karma.

 

On the horse side of life, the weather is beginning to show a little sign of warming up – that after dumping over 12″ of snow on us in the last 2 weeks.  So there’s too much snow for me to do anything with the horses, work wise, quite yet.  I need to get them into some ground driving before they get hitched.  And now, of course, in normal spring fashion, it’s going to start raining.

I withdrew from my first event, which only a few weeks away, because I know I will not have Chewie in a work program before it.  I’m a little bummed, but it was a clinic, not a show.  Also, 2 of the events I was hoping to go to this year got squashed, too.  So, no “play day” in the water, and no 3rd local CDE.  Oh well.   So, with that in mind, I’ve set a more realistic show schedule for the year, which cuts my original 12 show goal, down to 5.  And it puts the kaibosh on going to Kentucky with the horses this year for the National Drive.  Bummer.  Big Bummer.

But 5 shows – 2 with Chewbacca and 3 with Jesse, and possibly all of them with Luke -will still keep me busy.  And I actually think the first show with Chewie isn’t until August, so I’ve got LOTS of time to get him into a work program.  I plan to get a little tougher with his work this year – longer drives, and more weight in the cart (no I’m not planning on putting on a few pounds).. just going to either add sand bags or a second person to accompany me.  And, all that, I hope, will break in Chewbacca’s new harness collar I just got for him.  Pictures to come, eventually….. if I ever get back to driving.

Here’s to hoping.

 

 

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All I Can Say…. Karma is a … Well, You Know…

  1. Dom says:

    I had to pick my jaw off the ground re: the explosion. Whoa…

Leave a Reply

