Chewbacca is famous. Sort of.

The American Driving Society publishes a magazine every 3 months, which goes out to all its members.  It is called The Whip, and it is really a club newsletter on steroids.  Complete with advertising for harness shops & breeders, and articles on just about everything to do with driving, it is essentially a driving magazine.

The first edition of it every year features a section (complete with pictures!) to recognize drivers who have been awarded recreational driving achievement pins.  Chewbacca and I received our 100 hour pin at the end of last year, for logging 133 recreational driving hours (well, OK, the time was split up between Chewie, Luke, Jesse, and the tandem).  We made the Whip – complete with a picture!  Yay!!

I’m so proud.  Seriously.  Switching to driving has been a wonderful experience, and I am looking forward to getting back out this year.  I can’t wait to just start even long lining the horses again once the weather breaks (weather alert – the temps are going up next week whoo hoo).  I’m every bit as eager to just get out on the streets as I am to go compete.

I hope to get out to some more haul-out “field trips” this year, not just to shows, but to trails, clinics, and other events.  So we’ll see.  I do have my eyes set on the National Drive in Lexington.  We’ll see how reasonable that is to attend.  With a dog and 4 cats and 3 birds and 2 reptiles and a fish tank all at home, it is extremely hard to get away for several days.  Add to that taking the horses with us – and that is quite an adventure on the horizon.  I hope we can go.

National Drive or not, I hope to log up another 100 + hours this year, but that may be a little lofty goal, all things considering.  I sure would like to get the 250 hour pin this year, but it may not be until 2014 that I rake in that kind of time.

I am going to attempt to get Luke more exercise with my husband, which means more hours for him, but less for me.  And in general, since I have less time available to drive (no more spending 2 1/2 – 4 hours driving in one day), I may fall short.  But, regardless, I am still eager just to get started!

Have a great day.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Horses and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chewbacca is famous. Sort of.

  1. May says:

    Congrats on your feature 🙂 Remember me when you’re famous ❤

Leave a Reply

