First snow of the year

It took until the start of February to finally get some snow!  I wonder what the weather will do over the next couple of weeks.  I am hopeful that the temperatures get up enough that I can start getting the boys out on the road.  I don’t expect to really use the arena until April, but hopefully I can do some line driving in there before then at least.  Chewbacca got his new “sneakers” and has tried them on once already.   I love them, and I hope he does too.  We’re going to try the barefoot thing with him this year, like I’ve switched Luke to.  The hoof boots worked really well for him, so I am hoping Chewie will love them, too.  Either way, I’m getting quite anxious to get out there and get driving again!  Just waiting for the days to get longer and the temps to rise!

I know it’s been a while since I updated!!  I’ve been so busy, but all is well.  Other than just waiting for the down- season to pass.  I had an overdose of photography this past weekend, so I just wanted to share.
Enjoy!

bama

Random horse with a blanket of snow.

ChewieFeb2013d

Chewbacca is just too cute sometimes.

ChewieFeb2013e

Although I guess he didn’t want his picture taken 😉

ChewieFeb2013h

Smile!

fabian

A little mischievous pony acting all innocent right now.

Herd

A crowd gathered, wondering what the heck I was doing on my knees in the snow with this weird black thing pressed up to my head.

LukeandChewieFeb2013a

Phantom, the master of the big field, watching the new trespassers on his property.

LukeFeb2013e

Luke looking at his neighbors.

minis

Snowy minis.

polohorses

Random horses kissing in the snow  🙂

And then, I went to a rodeo that evening:rodeo1A behind the scenes shot before the start of the event.

rodeo2

Vest on a fence.

rodeo3

Cowboy staring down his bull before the night began.

rodeo5

Yee haw!

rodeo6

Hmmm… I can think of a few horses that did this to me.

rodeo7

Angry bull taking pay back.

rodeo10

This bull was a real charmer. My husband got great video of the whole ride and the standoff the bull had with the rodeo clown.  I will work on getting it up.

rodeo13

Weeee!

rodeo15

You couldn’t pay me to do this.

rodeo17

But it sure is fun to watch.

rodeo19

This is the cowboy from the staredown photo from above.  Looks like the bull won.

rodeo20

And the half-time entertainment was a really amazing liberty display.

rodeo21

This horse had so much enthusiasm, it was very impressive to watch him.

rodeo22

You know I have an interest in liberty work…I need to see if this person teaches lessons.  It would so be worth it.

rodeo28

I’m really happy with how my pictures came out.  Finally think maybe I’m starting to learn how to take shots indoors.

rodeo29

On his knees right out of the chute.

We had great seats for the rodeo.  Although we were up a little high, we were right along the chutes, in a  “VIP” section with our own private bar.  Seriously fun night.  Always good for fun pictures, and a fun evening.

Until next time – enjoy the winter!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

