First event of 2013 on the Books!

I was just discussing on another blog about costs of horse showing, and mentioned that 2013 will eat up my typical ‘show budget’ for about the next 5 years.  IF (and yes, it is a BIG IF), I get to do all the shows I have “planned”, the grand total of fees (including everything from hauling or fuel expenses to hotels and entries) will be upwards of $2300.  WOW!  Considering I spend usually less than about $400 a whole year to compete with multiple horses and multiple (one day open) events, 2013 really is planning to be a BIG year for me.  (Expensive!)

And on that note, I just submitted my registration (and the $150 fee attached to it), for a clinic in April.  I could definitely use some driving lessons, as there are issues with Chewbacca…. no wait… issues with myself… that I need to work on for Chewbacca’s sake!  (bending!).  So I am looking forward to taking the lesson at the clinic with Larry Poulin, 8 time World Champion Driver.  I’ve watched his clinics before and learned a lot.  This time I will go with Chewbacca and it should be good.

All totaled, I do plan on doing TWELVE shows and then the clinic, and I would also love to go to the National Drive! 

(this is probably a very unrealistic list, as usually I only go to 6 shows a year OR LESS, so this all may be “wishful thinking”)

 

This year’s outlook includes:

April – Larry Poulin clinic and possibly 1 open show with Luke and Jesse (although probably not!) and of course, the Mid West Horse Fair which I do every year.

May – 1 pleasure show with Jesse and Luke and potentially going to a CDE “play day” with Luke and Chewbacca to try to train on CDE obstacles that include WATER! (helmet cam- be ready!)

June – Luke and Jesse in a pleasure driving show.  There is a big, expensive out of state show that I would love to see Luke compete in.  It wouldn’t be Chewbacca’s cup o’ tea, but maybe Jesse.  Doubtful, though.

July -Potential to show Chewbacca and Luke in an HDT, if it gets organized.  It’s supposed to be in July.   And I am planning to show Luke in out of state CDE,

August – Chewbacca in an HDT, and possibly Luke and Jesse at a pleasure show

September – Luke and maaybe Chewbacca in a pleasure show (or I will show Jesse, instead).  I would like to try Chewie in a pleasure driving show, and this particular one may be the one to start him out in.  Small show, on grass, only 2 classes and cones nice and easy.

October- Chewbacca in the HDT, and Luke, too, if I can convince my husband to do it.  And then, also, the National Drive!

Should be a fun year, regardless if I do just one or all of these events.  I also will hope to haul out to some trails and have some fun with the boys again, too!  Definitely planning to put that helmet cam to good use!  (Good thing my husband bought me a second battery and a few more accessories for it at Christmas!)

Enjoy the day, and >>>>>>THINK SPRING<<<<<

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First event of 2013 on the Books!

  1. Starstone says:

    Good luck with all of it 🙂 I hope you get to do those shows 🙂 And of course, we want pictures 🙂

Leave a Reply

