Ponies at Play

Well, normally, I give my crew a 4 month winter break.  From November straight on through March, they get to be lumps in the field, and other than some playtime in the arena and trick work, they don’t have much of a life all winter.  I’m a wuss about the cold, and yes, technically I could bundle up and just suck up the cold and drive the horses all winter, but I really do think their time off helps them, and when they get restarted in the spring, they seem to have gained a better understanding of their job.  I’m not sure why I think that, it’s just that they seem primed and eager to work, and are better at their job for it.  Maybe they just feel good from so much time off, I don’t know.

Normally, I am quite happy to give them their time off, too.  As it’s cold out and I have no particular desire to be outside working them.

Last year, I drove into December, with the last drive on December 2nd, which beats out 2011, in which the last drive was Black Friday.  And here it is only the first of January gone, and I am watching the weather like a hawk, waiting for the streak of warm enough weather to get them going again.  I can’t WAIT to get back to driving them all, and am unusually eager to do so very early this year.

I’m also extremely eager to get a project pony/resale project.  This is the year I’m going to do it.  I have started perusing ads and found three ponies I would totally be interested in, if I was ready to do this right this moment.  I figure on making March the official start to prospect shopping, and I really look forward it.  Of course, I’m trying to figure out how to manage working the hours I work, and keeping Chewbacca, Luke, and Jesse fit and trained and ready to show, all while training up from the ground a new prospect.  It’s going to be a lot, and I really think I may need to find a volunteer to come help me with my “assembly line” of horses.  It’s the only way I can think of to be able to get 2-3 horses worked in the dwindling evening hours I will have after work and before dark.

However, right at this moment, they are enjoying their winter break, and I brought the camera out to the barn to take photos of my fuzzy filthy horses at play….

ChewieJan2013asmall ChewieJan2013b ChewieJan2013c ChewieJan2013c_1

Ok, there’s some play…

ChewieJan2013d ChewieJan2013e

Look at how nice Chewbacca moves out when he’s loose!  Wish he’d do that in harness and bump our dressage scores up a little on that whole “impulsion” thing 🙂

DixieJan2013a DixieJan2013b DixieJan2013c

awww… all 4!!  Chewie & Luke are not allowed to mix and mingle with the minis any more.  They are way too mean to them.

DixieJan2013d DixieJan2013e JesseJan2013bsmall JesseJan2013c LukeJan2013a LukeJan2013b LukeJan2013c LukeJan2013d

More play!LukeJan2013e

Ok, that wasn’t very exciting was it?  My crew really wasn’t feeling the winter enthusiasm, and weren’t very playful.  Fortunately, a couple of other ponies on the property were much more interested in playing and made for some GREAT photos.

ponies3 ponies4small ponies5small ponies7 ponies8 ponies9 ponies10 ponies11 ponies12

Have a great week!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse, Photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

