Christmas Comes Early

Winter is (almost) here.  At least this week the temperatures are actually dropping to more normal lows.  Last week it was in the 60’s most of the week.  OK weather for Florida.  But the problem is that I am in Chicago!!!

Well, the horses are on their winter break, but for me, things are picking up!  This is definitely planning to be a busy winter, and if all stays on track, an even busier spring!

I have landed a great new job, and I am starting up some on the side web designing jobs that are going great.  So I will be keeping busy all winter, and I am on track towards getting a retraining project pony in the spring.

March should be a very busy month as I get the boys all back to long lining and look for another horse to train and start up.

I definitely know I want a pony, somewhere in the 12-13h range (to fit my equipment I currently have).  Breedwise, I am leaning towards a welsh, welsh X, or a grade/ QH type pony.  I am going to check out some hackneys when the time is right, but I do not feel that a hackney will make the best “resale” project, and I am not looking for horse #5 for myself.  I just want to train something and get him driving and send him on to a nice new owner who will enjoy him.

Also on track is my diet.  In the last 2 weeks, I’ve gotten my sweet-tooth under lock and key, and even though I totally slacked on dieting throughout all of 2012, I did finally start up again.  I have lost 3 pounds so far, which is perfectly right in the middle of that 1-2 pounds a week ideal goal.  Between controlling my diet all winter and getting all these horses started back up in the spring on long lines, plus training my new driving prospect, I will have plenty of exercise, too!

My goal will be to lose 30 pounds, maybe a hair more.  I feel focused and optimistic about the future, and after all the hardships of 2011/2012 between my cancer and my husband’s ordeals, I am looking forward to enjoying a GREAT 2013.

Have a wonderful Holiday!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

