Bonus Driving Time!

Wow, this weather is a little insane…. a little scary, too.  I have never driven the horses in December before.  I used to ride all winter, but that was in an indoor arena!  This past weekend, I enjoyed the 60* weather and drove everyone…. on December 3!  Whoa….

After I sent in my totals to the driving clubs, I actually got in driving on 3 different days!  Those hours will count for 2013, so I’ve already got a 4 hour jump start on next year’s totals.  But for my personal record keeping, I will count those hours for 2012.

I have received my 100hour achievement pin from the ADS!  Woo hoo!  And I am going to be included in the nationally released ADS magazine, The Whip, which will come out in February.  So I am looking forward to that.

In the mean while, I am a little scared about this weather.  This past summer was so bad for so much of the country.  The heat and the drought left no hay and dead corn and crops everywhere, and prices of hay and grain skyrocketing.   If the Florida-like Chicago winter weather lasts, I am concerned it will reveal another scorching summer, which will lead to so much of an expense feeding the horses, I’m not sure how anyone will get through.

So I am keeping my fingers crossed for a deluge next year, lol!  Well, OK, maybe not that much rain, but at least a nice happy medium.

In the mean while, Christmas is coming.  Our lights are up and inside decorations are done.  I’m almost done Christmas shopping.  It may come right down to the line, but I am nearly done.  I have an MRI right before Christmas, which of course makes me a little nervous, but the last 3 have been clean, so I really have no reason to suspect anything else.

I am looking forward to 2013 actually.  The horse show schedule is already popping up, and I have about 3 shows planned with Chewbacca, 1 with Luke, possibly 3 for Luke with my Husband driving him, and 3 for Jesse.  Let’s see how much of that actually occurs, but that’s the plan 😉

Until next time!  Enjoy the day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

