Nearing the End….

Well, I’ve been truly enjoying my “vacation” that I’ve been on almost this whole year.  Plenty of horse time to be found, and I’ve put in many hours in the box driving everyone.  Winter is moving in now, the days are colder and much shorter than I like, and I am nearing the end of my driving season.  I’m sure the horses are looking forward to going on vacation for the winter, too.  The time off does them well, I think.  And I can focus more on working on tricks with them.  Luke is sooooo close to in-hand piaffe it’s not even funny.  Hopefully by the spring, he’ll have learned to do it.

However, the weather this past weekend was a real treat, and on what was probably the last 65* day of the year, we took the horses down to a forest preserve that allows driving vehicles, and enjoyed the trails, the warm weather, and lots of cantering for Chewie!  yay 😉

After our drive, I snagged a random person walking a dog to snap a photo or two….

Aren’t they kyoot?  lol.

Here, of course, is a helmet cam video of our fun.  I specifically wanted to get in some canter time with Chewie, since I really haven’t done any canter in about 2 weeks with him, so today was a real treat.  He did a lot of cantering, probably more than I’ve cantered in any session.  It was fun, and I love this park’s wide open, well groomed trails.  Plenty of room to move out, and I utilized the option of staying on the grass side of the paths as much as possible, so we could work more easily.

It was fun!

I’m almost ready to send in my total hours this year to the ADS.  I will have all the year end stats soon… probably next week!

 

Enjoy!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

