Long Post!

Well, it certainly has been a long time since I posted last.  Not terribly much has been happening, really.  My job search continues.  I had a nibble, but it did not turn into a bite, the position was filled.  Bummer.  So I’ve been spending a lot of time scouring the web looking for a great new position, which I am hopeful to find eventually.

I’ve also been spending a large amount of my free time at the barn.  (imagine that…), and needless to say, the horses have been getting worked, worked, worked.  lol.  In between, I’m also staying busy being a merry little house wife, spending time cleaning, landscaping, and whatever else around the house.  Haven’t really watched much TV or just sat around.  I like to keep busy.

The horses are doing great, and I in the final stretch of preparing Jesse for his first show in less than 2 weeks.  It will also be my first driving show, and I’m looking very forward to it.   I plan to body clip Jesse, but the weather has gotten so cold again, I only hope he won’t freeze when I do clip him a day or two out.

I have the papers in front of me to register for Chewbacca’s first driving show, too, which is about a month away.  I can’t wait to take him to it!  He’ll be competing in a 3-phase, 1 day show called an ADT (arena driving trial).  It’s like a 3-day event done in 1 day and within the confines of an arena.  It’s a great place to start out and experience the “marathon feel” without the distance.

He will do a dressage test in the morning, which is quite quite comparable to ridden dressage Intro A, and then immediately go into cones.  After lunch, he will do an obstacle course in the arena, and experience CDE Marathon-like elements, just in the arena.  We’ve already been practicing, of course.

His dressage is coming along great.  I’m happy with where he is, and since the test doesn’t call for changes in trot, we’re focusing on the working trot, which he does quite well once he’s warmed up.  I think we can manage to get through.  The only real “move” in the test is a large circle in the center each direction, and a change to a free walk across the diagonal.  We need to work on the free walk.  He’ll do an OK working walk, but his free walk needs help.  Otherwise, where he’s at, we will perform competently at the test.

We haven’t done any practice on cones this year, so this week I plan to start setting up cones courses and getting him through them.  When we were doing them last year, he seemed to greatly enjoy it, and I think cones are going to prove to be his strongest point.

As far as obstacles, well, we do practice the barrels quite a bit, but it is definitely not Chewie’s favorite things to do.  It’s impossible to make tight turns in the cart we have, so if we can’t pivot the vehicle around at a strong trot, we need to make the huge circumventing circles, which would kill our time in a show.  Since I can’t afford a marathon vehicle, we’ll just have to make do, and all in all, I’m not overly concerned about our obstacle efforts for the show – whatever we do, we do.  I’m not pressuring him, or myself, for that matter, to try to make a winning run.  I just want to leave the obstacles up and not run into anything!!!  lol

This weekend was very busy for us.  Saturday was the MidWest Horse Fair, our annual thing to do.  It was fun, and I got a lot of shopping done.  I picked up my custom ordered lightweight driving whip.  As soon as I picked it up I couldn’t believe how light it is!  My wrists will be thanking me next time I drive Chewbacca, which will be later today actually.

I also got carriage diapers for Chewie & Luke, as required now by the village police who have twice given me a hard time about manure on the village streets.  And I bought some other needed supplies, some yummy junk fair food, and although it was very crowded and took 1 1/2 hours just to park, it was a good few hours of running around.

Sunday morning we left home again for a little road trip and drove to Kentucky.  We visited an Aquarium in Newport, KY, which was quite fun!  Newport was a pretty little city, and I do have video, which I will be working on this week.  The aquarium was neat and had a huge shark tank you could walk under and around on several levels.

After that, we drove to Ohio and visited Jungle Jim’s International Market.  This place was seriously crazy, and a lot of fun!  It is a grocery store on 5 acres and has just about everything from every country that you could possibly think of.  We went into food shopping overload and had a lot of fun.

After a night in a hotel, we headed towards home with a stop in Shipshewana, Indiana.  It’s an Amish town with good places to shop and eat, and of course 3 carriage and harness shops 🙂  I got some things I needed to re-upholster the seats of Chewie’s cart, which I hope to get done before his show in a few weeks.  It was a nice town, lots of Amish buggies everywhere.

By the time we arrived back to the Chicago area, I was exhausted and quite happy to get home and pass out in bed, lol.

And, no rest for the weary, though!  I’ve got lots to do today, including some yard work, cleaning & waxing my car, then to the barn to work all the horses, and then tomorrow morning I need to turn right back around and go to Chicago at 6am.  I have my first recheck MRI and CT scan tomorrow at Northwestern.  Keeping my fingers crossed that all turns out for the best, but yes, I am of course nervous.  They will be looking to see if they see any new or recurrence of tumors in my leg or in my chest.  eeek.

Thursday, the horses get their shoes on, and then they’ll go to work again, too.  The weather should hold out I think, but the weekend calls for rain… that might make a good time to upholster my seats.  Hmm…

Well, that’s it for now, so more later!

Enjoy the day!

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

