It’s March!

Wow, where has the time gone.  I can not believe it’s March already and that it’s been 2 weeks since I posted anything last.

I’m not M.I.A.  Just nothing going on.  The weather took a downward turn since my last post and squashed any driving I had planned, so for the last 2 weeks every body’s just been hanging out.

It never fails, either.  The other night, I let Chewie and Luke out into the arena to play. I left their blankets on, figuring they’d just trot merrily around for a few minutes and be done.  Wrong. 

They BOOKED and ran and jumped and bucked and bounced and frolicked and reared and played so hard it was hysterical. I had to let them cool off before I put them back to paddock.  And of course, it was dark and I didn’t have a camera and my phone couldn’t record.

So, the next time I headed out, I went in the daylight, took the blankets off, had the camera in hand – and all they wanted to do was stand there and sniff my pockets. 

Ugh.

Oh well.

The weather is promising to turn around this week, so I hope to squeeze in any driving that I can.  I’d like to start doing some ground driving work, too, but my leg is not on par yet for that.

I was doing well, but I am now 7 weeks deep into radiation therapy, and the effects are getting to me.  My leg is sore, irritated, and the incision, which split open 2 months ago, still isn’t healed.  So I’ve been taking a bit of a respite as I nurse my leg.

Probably a good thing the weather has been bad the last 2 weeks.  Then I don’t feel so bad about not working the horses, since my leg can’t handle it.

There has been problem after problem with the radiation, and I actually to miss a few treatments because of it.  So, now, barring any more issues, I am going to be done next week, on Tuesday 3/13, making it a total of 8 weeks of treatment.

I can’t believe I’ve done nearly 2 full months of treatment.  Wow, how time flies.  Looking forward to it being over, and getting this darned leg healed up, so I can go back to normal activities.

I’ve managed to not lose any weight during this time.  I’ve wanted to, but officially, I’m not supposed to lose weight since it will effect my treatment.  Unfortunately, by “not losing weight”, that does mean I’ve managed to go ahead and gain. 

I’ve put on 6 pounds in the last 2 months…..Pfft….  Combined with the 5 pounds I gained during the 6 weeks I was laid up, means I’ve blown my diet all to hell.

I know, I shouldn’t be so hard on myself, I have had some extraordinary circumstances… but.. then again, not being hard on myself is how I spiked up to over 200 pounds in the first place.  While I’m eating still according to my diet, I am not getting in any form exercise at all.

That’s part of the reason I’m eager to get back to ground driving.  Not for the horse’s sake, but for mine.  But at the same time, I also am not about to push my unhealed leg, so it will just have to wait.

What I can’t wait for is April!  Shows start up in April, although I am undecided if I want to attend the first one, on April 15 or not.  The Mid West Horse Fair is in April.  We’re thinking about taking a vacation in April.  We should have our tax return by April, and Titanic is being re-released in 3D in April.  And I can’t wait to see it!!

Lookin’ to be one good April!!  Just have to get through March first.

Have a great day!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s March!

  1. RiderWriter says:

    Hey, I wanted to say thanks for your nice comment over on my blog about Leafy! You certainly have ridden some giants in the past. The Perchie in the lesson program at the old barn is definitely MY biggest, and what used to really make me laugh is one week I’d be on her and the next on my favorite large pony pal. Talk about a difference… didn’t bother me in the least, it all made me a better rider. That really must have been a treat to put the Westphalian GP horse through his paces.

    I AM laughing, though, because Leafy is most definitely NOT a sweet horse, I’m afraid… He’s special, and I do love him, but let’s just say I glossed over some of the details! If you want to know more, email me at tracienoel@me.com and I’ll fill you in.

Leave a Reply

