Another Drive

No video, but I did get Chewbacca out for another drive on Sunday.  We went about a mile down the road, visited a friend with her Saddlebred, and headed back. 

Along the way we picked up an appaloosa who kept us company for a while (with his rider!).  I guess everyone’s enjoying the awesome weather!

We were gone about an hour.  Chewie trotted out the best yet, which is awesome considering it’s only his 3rd drive this year.  He was really moving along and adding in some flexion.  It was great!  I think he likes the 32/33 degree weather.  It was cool, sunny, and by the time we got back my toes were pretty cold, but Chewie didn’t get sweaty despite his winter coat.  It was a good good drive! 

I am a member of 2 driving clubs this year, and both offer a certificate program for hours logged.  My husband is also doing it since he’s a member of both clubs as well.  Non showing hours spent in the box count.  So far, I’m up to 5 hours!  Whooo!  That’s about 5 more hours than I usuall have by the middle of February.

My goal is to get 100 or more hours by the end of the year.  I think I can make it.

So much driving 🙂

Oh, and I am more than halfway done with my radiation therapy too!  I have 18 out of 33 treatments already checked off.  I’ll be done on March 9, and that’s getting here quick!

As the days get longer, I look forward to getting the horses worked during the week, too.  It’s definitely keeping me busy, and my mind occupied – work, radiation, then horses.  whew.  Lots to do.  But I look forward to the rewards for the effort- just being able to get out and drive is a reward enough, and I hope to show this year, too!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in horse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

