It’s February and the horses are back to work!?

This is a weird, weird, weird month.  NEVER in the last 6 years that I’ve had driving horses, have they been worked in February.  They usually aren’t even started back ground driving until late March!

This weather is making me very happy.  I got to the barn early Saturday morning and got the minis out for a tandem drive.  This was their 4th drive together and I think they are doing wonderfully!  They are improving in everything – figuring out how to work together, and their trotting is getting super.  Their turns are better and better, and I’m starting to figure out rein control.

I tell ya… it’s one thing riding 1 horse with 4 reins (like a double bridle, or pelham bit), only controlling 1 mouth… but to have 4 reins and control 2 mouths at the same time is a real challenge.

But it’s so much fun!!!  I think I am officially a driving addict, and definitely addicted to driving 2 horses!  All I can think about is learning to drive a pair and getting a buddy for Chewbacca! (Not going to happen any time soon.)

And speaking of Chewbacca (and Luke!) they also went out for a drive!  This was Luke’s 1st drive of the year, Chewie’s 2nd already, and they were super!  Did some trail driving nearby.

What a great day!

Chewbacca and Luke :

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=M2U00256.mp4

Minis:

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=TandemDrive4.mp4

Enjoy the beautiful non-winter!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s February and the horses are back to work!?

  1. Dom says:

    Shhhh! Don’t let the weather gods hear you!

Leave a Reply

