Tandem Driving: Day 3

It’s been over a week since I posted anything!  Oh boy!  Well, there’s been not much going on really.

The weather is amazing for February, but the days still aren’t quite long enough to do any work with the horses during the week in the evening.  So not too much going on really, but things are slowly starting to get back into swing.  Not quite full swing, but some swing.  lol.

By the time “full swing” comes around, my horses will be more than ready because I am trying to work them here and there, which is way more than I normally do in February.  Normally in February, they’re still wearing their heavy weight blankets and I’m wondering why I don’t still live in Georgia!

This past weekend, I had a horsey fun-filled weekend!

I have recently been introduced to a Saddlebred.  She’s a young mare, all black and very pretty.  I have not had any real experiences with Saddlebreds, and I’m still getting used to the differences between a breed like that and something laid back like my Chewbacca!  LOL.  She’s even a far cry from the hot TB’s I used to ride in my hay day.

This horse has a MOTOR.  Holy cow!  Everytime I see her go, I do become more impressed with her.  Her training is progressing wonderfully and the horse is animated and powerful and really beautiful to watch go.  There is no way I could handle driving her, and I give kudos to her owner for bravery (lol!) but she sure is fun to watch.  Hopefully she’ll be doing a show in several weeks and I’ll get some pictures.

My weekend plan for Luke and Chewbacca was to do more ground driving.  They both worked beautifully, and I’m very happy.  I worked them both around a very easy “obstacle course” of cones, barrels, a couple ground poles, a tarp, and an “L” shaped pole.  I made it ridiculously easy because they are just starting back.

The tarp was an interesting experience.  Luke balked at it once, then remembered he isn’t afraid of tarps.  Chewbacca was another story.  It took some convincing, but he finally went over it.  Apparently he forgot that last year he spent about 2 weeks going over a tarp in the driveway, while hitched, with no problems.  I can see what I’ll be working on with Chewie in the next sessions…

But Chewbacca did impress me very much with his forward gait and superb roundness.  Consistency is something we’re still working on.  We had started to get really good towards the end of last year with consistent gaits and flexion.  After the winter break, I was really impressed with how much roundness and forward I got.  It was more consistent than I expected, and man did he look gorgeous!  I can’t wait to get some pictures of him for comparison from last year.

Potentially Luke may be competing in the Cloumbus Carriage Classic, which is an ADS show about 2 hours away.  It would be a super show to compete at, on the sprawling green lawns of a historic plantation house.  If Chewbacca can get his 3 trots down between now and June, and continues to travel as beautifully round as he did ground driving this weekend, I’ll take him too, and I’ll bet he would stand a fair chance at doing very well.  Looking forward to that!

So many super cool things this year!!!

And, last but certainly not least is the tandem!   I think it’s offiical…. I LOVE driving more than one horse.  OK… note to self – get a pair vehicle and a match for Chewbacca.  I so need to start a team.  LOL.

Driving these 2 minis tandem is SO MUCH FUN!!!  I love it!  It’s only their 3rd drive, but I can see so many improvement.  I vaguely think my rein handling is improving.  Our straight is getting straight more consisentently, and our turns are getting really good!  We trotted quite a bit and that’s going along really well too! 

 This is a hoot, and weather permitting this weekend, I’m going to try them on barrels in the arena and get some video.  That should be fun.  This seriously is so much fun to drive these 2 horses together.  I really am hooked!  I could definitely see myself driving a pair or even a 4 in hand someday, if I learn how.  Even with full size horses!  Oh wouldn’t that be awesome!!

I hope to get Luke and Chewbacca out for a drive this coming weekend if the weather allows, so more updates and pictures to come!

Enjoy the week!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

