First Drives of the Year!!

I’ve been itching to get out and drive horses.  The weather has been amazing, you’d think it’s spring, not winter.  My leg is strong enough.  And I’ve got a bad case of cabin fever.  I just need to do normal things, and this is something I really wanted to get back to.

So, it was a great weekend weather-wise, and I took Chewbacca out for the first drive of the year!  We went for about 30 minutes, a nice casual walk with some trotting.  We didn’t go far, but he was super.  We did some roads and some trails.  It was amazing that he just went right back to driving after 8 weeks off with no trouble.

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=video-2012-02-05-10-48-11.mp4

There was a playground that has been recently built, and it wasn’t there the last time Chewie went out for a drive, so it was a new thing to look at.  He thought about stopping, but just moved on when I asked and went by it with no trouble.

I did ground drive Luke, and he looks about ready to be hitched, too, so maybe next weekend.  It’s still dark during the week once I get to the barn.

And….. dah dah dah…. I started driving the minis tandem!!!  I’m thrilled about the great driving experiences I’ve had this weekend, and I hope this rings in the start to an amazing 2012.

The minis are driving AWESOME in tandem!  They’re steering is really getting better and better.

I absolutely LOVE improving with every session, and not just feeling stuck.  I definitely am glad, regardless of the circumstances that surrounded it, that I switched to driving.

Here is a video of the minis – showing turns, trot, and weaving through those cones:

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=video-2012-02-05-11-57-51.mp4

It’s been a fun weekend, and all in all, I’ve logged 1 1/2 hours driving.  Lol.  All short drives.

Oh!  And before I forget- Pictures (FINALLY!) of the completed trailer hitched to the truck!!!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Drives of the Year!!

  1. RiderWriter says:

    WOW – they are really going to see you guys coming! 😉 You did a great job matching the two vehicles, and I like the graphics.

  2. RiderWriter says:

    Also, I’m so glad you’re enjoying driving. I have long thought I would like to try it, because it really does look like fine. The two minis together are TOO cute! You’re also lucky to have a facility so suited to driving. I don’t know any place around here that does it, other than the ASB barn down the street (I assume). Glad you have goals in mind, too!

  3. RiderWriter says:

    *fun, not fine… good grief

Leave a Reply

