Thank You For The Votes

To those that voted in the National Anthem contest, I’d like to thank you.  Sadly, I did not win.  But At least I was a finalist.  Yay.  That’s the most impressive thing I’ve done this year.  umm…… hmm….  Good thing the year is young.

Here is something I would like to share.  This is my story, and how I got in this mess in the first place.  Share on.

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Thank You For The Votes

  1. Liz Ghent says:

    You are sooooooo amazing! I started loosing weight back in September (I was 265!!!) I’m down to 243! 🙂
    Not much but I’m getting there and now a little part of it will be because of you! I DO owe it to myself and my horses! I will be back in the saddle again (and I think you should too!).
    You are beautiful inside and out (no matter what size), but I’m glad you found the cancer before it spread and I’m glad you’re doing this for you! I’m so proud of you my friend! I’m glad we got to know each other for a while in our lives and I hope we connect in the near future! 🙂 Good luck with the weightloss and keep your spirits up!

    Love,
    Liz 🙂

    • kshai1715 says:

      Thank you Liz, for the amazing words. And congratulations on the weight loss. Believe me, I know how hard it is. My husband has been trying for years to lose weight and has had no success. He desperately needs to lose over 100 pounds. You will get there, Liz. One thing I have learned is how very very slow of a process losing weight is. Anyone can drop 10 pounds in a week or 2 with pills or magic drinks, but that’s water weight, and it comes right back. Losing “real weight”, actual fat, is an extremely slow process. I’m lucky to lose 1 pound a week. Often I’ll go 2-3 weeks without seeing any change, and then all of a sudden, I’m down 3 or 4 pounds in a day. It’s frustrating and very very slow. But it is a permanent change, and those take longer with more of a commitment, but it will happen!

      If I ever get out your way, which I hope to, I’ll let you know so we can meet up!!

  2. Lana says:

    Amanda,

    I am so proud of you – to finally get some self esteem and confidence back. You are doing a great job with the weight loss, and I know that is extremely hard work. You have not given up, and are turning into a very strong person. I pray that you beat your cancer, and all your treaments continue to go well. Just wish you wouldn’t have lost your riding confidence! But, it seems you are very happy with driving, and Chewy seems to be picking it up nicely. Congratulations again, and give Chewy a big oatmeal cookie for me! Glad he is part of your life.

    • kshai1715 says:

      Thank you Lana! Thank you so much! I really do feel lucky. Lucky that I have lost the weight, lucky to have found the cancer in time, and certainly lucky to have Chewie in my life! He’s a wonderful horse and I am very much looking forward to getting back to driving this spring and doing shows this summer. I can hardly wait! I’ve already started ground driving him to get him fitted back up for work as soon as the weather clears! I have a lot to look forward to, and this promises to be one heck of a busy year. I plan to make the most of it. I’ll give Chewie an iced oatmeal cookie! He does love those!

Leave a Reply

