Horse Play Day

Chewbacca and Luke have not been terribly thrilled to run around and play the last few times I put them out.  Maybe it was the cold temperatures, or the frozen ground.  Either way, they apparently saved it all up for today, because they were bouncing around happily for a good 30 minutes.

I got more pictures of Chewie than I did Luke, but Luke’s antics were right up there.  I missed it on camera because I wasn’t ready, but he just stood up and had a showdown with Chewbacca for a few seconds.  Very funny.  He just stood on his back legs, like he was a dog begging.  Just waiting for Chewie to come run with him.  Such funny ponies.

And speaking of ponies…. I got the minis working in tandem today ground driving.  They did great.

Definitely had a few hiccups, but nothing too awful.  This is really coming along.  They’ve only done this 5 times so far.  They’re not far off from being ready to work hitched to the vehicle.  This is so much fun it’s a hoot.  And it’s also kind of humiliating when things go awry.  Really hard to straighten out 2 horses when you’re just 1 person, and have all the lines/traces and things to get tied up in.

But when they go straight, they go great.  Today we worked on turns, and we even weaved through some cones.  They did super.  So everything is starting to come together!

My leg is holding up really well, and I’m looking forward to spending as much as possible during this next week of 50 degree temps working horses!  I may even drive somebody if the driveway thaws out a bit more.

Can’t wait!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Horse Play Day

  1. Your horses look quite lively. I know my dog loves the cold weather and drags me along during our ‘walks.’

  2. Dom says:

    They look like they’re levitating!

Leave a Reply

