Movie Review: Red Tails

One thing I love, besides horses, of course, are movies.  So, I want to include movie reviews in my blog as see them.  Old, new releases, whatever, if I see it, I’ll try to review it and give my opinions.

So, let me start on my soapbox… err.. I mean begin this review… by asking a question to you:  what makes you like a movie?

Is it the story? the acting? the plot? the music? the drama? the exhilaration? the emotion? the suspense? the cute guy (or gal) in the lead role? the special effects?  The pace? All of these things?

Well, for me, I like a movie to have a a good plot, good acting with characters that you can come to like and feel like you know.  I also like the movie to have a soundtrack that makes you fall in love, and the movie needs to have a build up to a climax.  That’s pretty general, I know, but these are common, basic story telling necessities.

So, last movie we saw was War Horse, and that was my pick.  This time around, we saw Red Tails, my husband’s picks.  I’m not opposed to WWII movies.  There are many that are good that I like very much, like Saving Private Ryan.  I’ve also seen the Tuskegee Airmen and thought that was a good movie.

George Lucas put together a $100 million movie for Red Trails, which tells the story of African-American fighter pilots in Italy in WWII, part of the Tuskegee project.

The movie is enticing, if you like war movies, with realistic aerial battles, and a theatrical trailer that could really draw you in.

Well, the trailer was the best part of the film. Who ever did the marketing for this movie did a great job.  Unfortunately , there was nothing great about this film.  The aerial battles were good, and I assume they were realistic.  Apparently, the massive budget for this film went totally into the special effects, because the story, the acting and the nearly non- existent soundtrack were completely lacking.

There were scenes that felt like they could go on at least for a dramatic pause, and were just chopped short and all of a sudden the film cuts to something entirely different.  There was  no consistent storyline, no dramatic build up, predictable outcomes, and very, very poor acting.

One guy I couldn’t understand a thing he was saying, and the lack of emotions every one else portrayed really spun this movie into a dismal downward spiral.

There was a love-romance going on between one of the fighter pilots and a young Italian woman… throughout the movie, this was the most-emotionless, un”built-up” thread of events happening.  These people were supposed to be in love, and yet they had all of the emotion of a turnip rotting in a field.  I take that back…. I’ll bet if you time lapse that turnip and add dramatic music, you’d get a better story than this bazillion dollar film with uber-super ultra director managed to make.

There was tons of opportunity in this film to add drama, intensity, passion, and create a movie that you sink into.  And none of it came together.  Seriously, if you added a narrator, it would have been like watching a documentary on the History Channel.  No, I take that back, too.  The documentaries have a soundtrack, drama, and narrators that actually uses emphasis and enunciation when they speak.

Even my husband was bored to death with it.  Just goes to show that just because you have a name like “Lucas” and $100 million to make a movie with, is not a guarantee that you’ll turn out a good flick.  Everyone in the theater near us, as we were walking out, all had similar comments.  One guy said something to the effect of an amateur production could have been better.  I agree.  One woman in the audience muttered “that’s disgusting” when the interracial couple kissed. Really?  You’re that shallow?  Or maybe she just meant that it was disgusting that she spent $10 to go see this crap fest movie.

This was not worth seeing.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Red Tails

  1. CMrok93 says:

    The dogfights are fun but everything else is filled with corniness, lame acting, predictable story arc, and moments where the film feels like a video-game rather than based on a true story. A great story to be told, but told in a very poor way. Good review right here though. Give mine a look when you get the chance.

  2. RiderWriter says:

    Thanks for the review! Based on what I’d already heard about this movie, I was planning to give it a miss. This is disappointing because I like war movies, WWII in particular (with SPR being the best), and I think the story of the Tuskegee Airmen is fascinating. I even got to meet one of them once! What a shame that this movie seems to be a total waste of everyone’s money.

  3. kshai1715 says:

    It definitley seems to be a waste of George Lucas’s money, but I suppose he has enough of it to waste. It is a shame that such a big name producer couldn’t pull off this movie.

Leave a Reply

