Welcome to the New Year !

Ok, is it April?  Or January 6?  Am I living in Chicago, or back in sunny Georgia?  I’m confused… because of this…

 

But, it is one of the many good things that have been taking place already this year, and it’s only been less than a week!

Warm weather abounds,

horses are feeling good.

I spent some time enjoying the weather and the ponies at the barn today.

My drain has finally been removed and today was the first time in 5 weeks I’ve driven my car!

I’m so glad to be free of that drain.  It was very annoying.  Of course, now I have a hole in my leg the size of a #2 pencil.  It will close up, I’ve been told… eventually.  My leg feels so strange without the drain.  I must have gotten used to it.

It was a very good day today, and I loved being with my ponies.  It was all I could do to resist the very strong urge to harness up and go for a drive.  But I don’t think my leg is quite up to that, and husband refused to partake.  lol.

However, since I have my husband doing all of my walking for me, I also put him to work today on day 3 of tandem training the minis!  Yep, I got the husband to tandem these 2 around the farm.

He drove them like I told him to, and everyone did great.  I’m very proud of all 3 of them!  Even Dixie was operating on cooperative terms.  Amazing.  I told my husband that my biggest area of concern right now, is getting the horses to understand that they need to go straight.  And as you can see, they are very straight.

It really went super well.  And since I couldn’t walk well enough to keep up, I just snapped pictures and did some video.

Oh, and amongst the pictures I took, was this one… came out strangely out of focus and overexposed, but I liked it.. thought it was kind of artsy.  What do you think?

Oh, and I also have seen a couple movies recently.  Quick review…

Contagion.  Well, all I can say about this movie was that the only thing contagious about it was an acute case of boredom.  Even Kate Winslet, who survived the icy waters of the North Atlantic, couldn’t survive how boring and dull this movie was, and died halfway through.  Depsite the “all star” cast, this is a definite DUD.  Do not watch.  I give it 2 thumbs down.

Although, I do have a review of another movie that I watched the other night.  Tucker & Dale versus Evil.  This movie is like Mr. Bean meets Friday the 13th.  A couple of very nice, although dimwitted hillbillies and a gang of lunatic college kids mix together for blood, guts, gore, and non stop hilarity.  If you don’t mind bloody movies and people dying in strange and yet oddly hysterical ways, this is a must see movie.  It was hysterical, and I am hard to please with comedies.  Tucker & Dale, you rock.  Funny from top to bottom.  A+ on my ultra-awesome movie review list.  It’s on Netflix….

I go back to work on Monday!  Woot! Starting to get back to normal, although I may forget how to do my job after being off for 6 weeks.  Radiation starts soon, too, and I am being told I have a 50/50 chance of needing chemo.  I’d like to avoid it if I can, but I guess in the scheme of things, I’d rather lose my hair than my leg or my life.  So we’ll see.

More updates later!  Enjoy the warm weather if you’ve got it!

 

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, Photography, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to the New Year !

  1. Your hole from the drain will close. Roxanne’s did, so I know yours will too. I can still see where the top of Rox’s drain was, but she took a lot, lot longer than expected for her stitches to heal and for her drain to be ready to come out. (Giant breed, older dogs can take longer). Soon, you’ll be good as new and ready to go out and play again!

  2. Dom says:

    I am soaking up the good weather while it lasts!

  3. We’ve had warm weather too but I’m afraid it’s going to change now. Hope your leg heals and everything is okay. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

