Wow, what a Christmas

After a really great training session on Tuesday that makes me really think I actually might be able to train the 2 minis tandem and am eager to continue doing so, I had mentioned how my leg was hurting.  I figured I over did it, but I never imagined I’d spend the next 3 days in the hospital.

Yep, I’ve been hospitalized for 3 days.  Now I feel like a cancer patient.  I’ve never been hospitalized in my life, never been in so much pain, and never been on so many medications all at once.

This is my leg on Wednesday when I went to the hospital:

You can obviously see how red and inflamed my skin was.  You can’t tell in the picture that my whole thigh is also extremely swollen.  It is about 50% larger than it should be, and my skin was buuuurrrrrrrning.   Oh it was so so so painful.

The doctor felt I had internal bleeding and he put me in surgery immediately.  So inside of 3 weeks, I’ve had 2 surgeries.  He removed the drain and put a new one in and drained blood.  But the surgery did not resolve all of the issues.

Actually, they really don’t know why I’m experiencing this type of complication.  He said internal bleeding, especially this late in the game, is extremely rare, and he’s never seen the swelling & pain I’m experiencing with removal of sarcoma.

Leave it to me to have some mystery complication.  It’s my bad luck times 2 this time around.  So they kept me in the hospital Wed, Thurs, and Friday.  I finally got discharged very late Friday evening, just in time to be home for Christmas eve.

I’m still swollen and in pain, but it is less, and being managed with 7 different medications.  Yep, 7.  I’m on 3 painkillers, medication to protect my stomach, antibiotic, and nerve medication to help take down nerve pain.  This is fun.  What a Christmas.  The doctor says I’ll be conscious enough to remember Christmas, but with how I feel, I think I’d rather just sleep right through.  I’m very dizzy, and out of touch, and it’s hard to concentrate, and I can’t walk or use my leg at all at the moment.

What makes me the most unhappy?  I can’t work the horses!  LOL.  The minis were doing soooo awesome and I was looking forward to working them every week for the winter.  I was also hoping to take Luke & Chewie out for  a rare winter-drive, since the weather has been so phenomenal.  I was just waiting to physically be able to get into Chewbacca’s cart, but now I can’t walk.  I was also hoping to go back to work next week.. forget that, now too.  Oh, and driving a car is out.  And my radiation treatment will have to be delayed because nothing can be done until my thigh is better and the drain is out.

So I guess the whole “push myself to get better and strive for health” mentality didn’t work so well.  Now I’m one hurting horsey and I need to remain on bed rest until further notice.

I think I need someone to hand walk me, cold hose my leg, and change my standing bandages twice a day…………

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wow, what a Christmas

  1. Perhaps the hand walking and cold hosing will work better than the hospital medication? Get well soon and take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

