Tandem Training Day 1

Well, my leg is getting really close to 100%.  I would be totally awesome if they would just take this drain out, but no such luck.  The nerve tingling and muscle spams I’ve been having have pretty much stopped, and not quite 21 days after my surgery I am walking around well.  I’m still not allowed to drive, but I’m mentally scratching at the walls, I’m so sick of being home.  I don’t think I’ve ever pined to go back to work so much, just to get out of the house.  But alas, I have to wait until I get 7″ of plastic tubing removed from the hole in my leg.

Fun times.

But the real fun is at the barn.  Stupid me didn’t have my husband snap any pictures, but I will remember to have him do so on Tandem Training day 2.

So for Day 1, I harnessed up both Dixie & Jesse and my husband and I ground drove them out in the arena.  The session lasted all of 5 minutes.  We went around about 3 times.

My husband drove Dixie and took Jesse’s reins.  He was going sooooo well this summer, but the last 4 weeks or so that he’s had off have caused a slight regression.  Jesse has a minor tendancy to want to bolt.  He goes about 10 feet and stops and continues on like nothing happened, and then, out of the blue, off he’ll go again.  It isn’t bad, and consistency this summer pretty much stopped it.  But it is part of the reason he is my leader and Dixie is my wheeler.

Dixie is older, smaller, slower, and generally less responsive to pretty much anything you do.  Dixie is as Dixie does, after all.  Jesse is half her age, 4″ taller, much more forward, and though he’s not a brave leader, his confidence is (or was around Sep/Oct) improving.  He’ll make a great leader, and he won’t be in a position to run on top of Dixie, which I think would so happen if I switched them.

Anyway, so in hand, I took all 4 reins and ground drove them both.  It went perfectly.  Once they figured out they were supposed to stay in a straight line, they did it and did it well and even maintained a good distance between them.  I even tried a partial circle.

This is going to be so much fun.  My tandem training will be rather inconsistent over the winter, but I hope to at least work the pair 8-10 times between now and March, weather dependent.  I think come late March or April, they will be really ready to hitch tandem, and what a time saver it will be working 2 horses at once.  LOL.

Now I think Chewbacca needs a partner, and I need a new vehicle.  One cool thing about driving, versus riding is you can have more than one horse going at a time.

Too fun!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

