Surgery: The Days After

Well,

November has been one hell of a month.  I’ll be glad when it is over tomorrow, although yes, I am a little reserved about what December will bring.

We started November with cancer, and fire, and in the never ending drama that fills the days of our lives, the guy who set the fire to the neighbor’s house commited suicide.  Wow.  I so need to move.  Really.  I do. Then on Thanksgiving I literally started a family argument by eating in the hours before dinner.  Really.  I kid you not  My cat needs his tooth extracted, I canceled my stove, our neighbor with the burned down house went nuts and we had her arrested – again.  And finally my dad, who I had not seen in almost 2 years came in for my surgery.

And to round out the month, I had my cancer surgery Monday.

Whew.  How’s that for enough crap going on all at one time.

The surgery went well.  At least, I’m told it did- because I have recollection of it at all, which isn’t a bad thing.  lol.  They gave me something for “anxiety” and that was the end of it.  I don’t remember a damned thing until I woke up about 1 1/2 hours after surgery.  For the best, I suppose.

I haven’t seen the horses in 4 days and I’m going crazy.  But I hope to get out to see them later this week.  I’m sure they’ll be a little pent up, from not getting to play in the arena at all.  I miss them much, but my barn owner sent me a card and said they are all fine and just waiting to see me again 🙂

Anyway though, I really am doing OK.  I’m up and mobile and loaded up on so much norco I could probably walk on hot coals and not know the difference.  LOL.  The doctors told me not to sit around, that I should get up and walk in short, frequent amounts, so I am, and every time I do, I get more and more able to walk better.

So here’s a little picture-ography of my leg..

to start:

the tumor in my leg sticking out…

Then, the tumor on CT scan:

then, on the MRI:

And finally,

the after surgery look:

Definitely more than I was expecting.  They did have to remove almost a whole muscle.  It will never grow back.  So I’ll always have a dip, but it won’t look quite this bad over time.  It will fill in with fat and other tissue.

Fortunately, they do feel they got the whole thing, and there’s a chance that I won’t need any further treatment.  Won’t that be nice!  No radiation, no chemo!  woot!  I won’t find that out until next week, so I’m just keeping my fingers crossed that I get lucky and not need more treatment.

In the mean time, I just get to be drugged up and heal.  lol.

Can’t WAIT to get the horses working again, and really can’t wait to get those 2 minis lined up tandem.  Oh well, I guess I’ve got some time.

have a good day!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, horse and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surgery: The Days After

  1. Dom says:

    Talk about a crappy month 😦 Jesus…

  2. Glad you came through surgery well! Hoping no further treatment is needed and life becomes a little more peaceful for you.

  3. Diane says:

    I saw the picture of your leg because I did a search for “tumor on my leg”. My leg looks just like yours and now my heart is beating fast! The bump has been there for maybe 2 weeks and I have no idea what it is. Would you mind telling me about your leg and how long it was there?

    • kshai1715 says:

      Diane – I will email you. If you have a lump like this on your leg you NEED TO GET IT EVALUATED NOW! If your doctor tells you it is a LIPOMA (or nothing serious) you need to INSIST on an ultrasound or MRI and DO NOT STOP UNTI YOU GET PROPERTLY EVALUATED.

      I will send you an email with the rest 😉

Leave a Reply

