Ashes

Well, in the aftermath of the fire, it’s been really stressful.  I keep reliving the moment in my head when I looked out the window and saw nothing but raging flames. It was a terrifying moment, and I really think it was the scariest thing both me and my husband experienced.  Not knowing if our house was going to get lit up, too, and watching 2 neighbor’s home burn, was just horrific.

The second home suffered extreme damage to the siding, no damage inside the home, but she completely lost the siding on half her home.

These are pictures of what’s left of her porch and kitchen area.  I heard speculation that the fire started outside the home, on the porch, and it wasn’t electrical.  There may have been involvement of a dropped cigarette.  The neighbor was a junk collector, and had numerous things, including dead vines, that just acted as kindling, and the house went up in seconds.  I think when I noticed the flames, the house had been on fire for less than a minute or two, and it was all aflame, through the roof and kitchen, already.

In fifteen minutes, the fire was mostly doused down, but it had ripped through 3/4 of the house first.

Initially my husband ran over there to see if the neighbor was in her home.  She wasn’t, but she did come running over and went in the back door and grabbed her birdcage.  She threw it out into our lawn and got out of the house.  It appeared her birds were dead, but in the chaos, there wasn’t time to take a head count.  Firemen were evacuating everyone.

Hours later, around 1 am, I took my dog out potty and heard some chirping.  I turned around to find one of her lovebirds sitting on a plant in our garden.  Amazingly, we were able to catch not 1, but 2 survivors.  We found 3 dead ones out of the 6, and 1 was unaccounted for.

These two are happy and incredibly lucky to have survived, and amazingly, not have flown away.  We’re watching them for the neighbor and they’re chirping away happily.  Never had lovebirds before.  I kind of like them.  But we have them in a little spare cage, and so they are being kept in a spare room behind a closed door so our cats can’t get to them.

Lucky birds.

What a weekend.

With the daylight now gone so early, the horses are going on winter-break mode.  I had intended to drive them this weekend, but of course, Sunday was miserable weather, and Saturday I was not able to get to the barn on the beautiful day.  So maybe next weekend.

I did however, start teaching Chewbacca tricks the other week.  I’m starting with Spanish Walk, and spent some time Sunday working with both Luke & Chewie on tricks.  After only 3 sessions total, Chewbacca picked up on the Spanish “paw”, which will translate eventually into an actual walk.  He learned that he should pick up his leg on cue and extend it all the way out so his knee is flat and have a moment of suspension that he just holds it out.

He learned incredibly quickly, and was by the far, out of the 4 I’ve taught to Spanish Walk, the fastest learner.  So, without halters on, I got both he and Luke to stand side by side and synchronize their pawing on the spot.  It was really cool!  And I think both the horses were having fun.  I’ve got to try to get video of that.

Now I’ll have to teach them to actually walk forward and kick out their front legs at the same time, same stride.  Wouldn’t that be fun.  That’s my winter project, and Chewbacca will also be learning to bow.  And I’m going to attempt to refine Luke’s bow, by getting him to bow automatically by just pointing to the ground.  We’ll see how that goes.  That may take the whole winter.

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ashes

  1. Dom says:

    So so so scary… omg.

  2. After the drama and horror of the fire, I bet those birds were a little ray of sunshine. I’m glad they were saved.

    My ponies are going on winter break too, but only because I’m moving and won’t be set up to do much with them at the new place this winter.

  3. kshai1715 says:

    The birds are very lucky, they really are. And they are now ours, too. Like we need more animals! LOL, but at least 2 little birds will hardly be noticeable in our little zoo – not like they require a lot, although we do need a cat-proof bird cage for them, now. The neighbor has no home, no insurance, and no money, so she told us we can keep the birds, since they don’t even have a cage to live in. They are very nice, and sing a much nicer song than the senegal parrot my husband already has.

Leave a Reply

