Chewbacca – The Three Mile Man

The last few times I’ve driven Chewbacca out on the road, he’s been doing three miles.  He’s doing awesome!  I know three miles isn’t that much, but he’s still learning and slowly building up experience every time out.  For the rest of the good weather this year, I’m not planning on doing more than 3 miels with him.  I’m happy with that distance.  It takes about 40-45 minutes to do and I’m adding in more trot each time.

We did plan out a route that will be almost 6 miles, but I’m not sure if it’s something we’ll do this year or wait until next year after winter break.

In his most recent road-side adventures, Chewie experienced the donkey braying! LOL.  He’s seen the donkey once before, but there was no braying involved.  Chewbacca is very interested in all the fun things at the neighbor’s farm, with the donkeys, a horse, a bunch of sheep, and geese and ducks and guinea fowl, and sometimes there’s llamas, too.  I dare not use the word “spooky” when the donkey started braying, but Chewbacca did get overly worried, and veered sideways off the road, into someone’s yard, and “thought” about spinning the cart around.  It was all very controlled and he didn’t do a 180, but the thought was there.  Thankfully, he knows what “walk on” means and listened to me telling him he’s OK and not being eating by the braying horse-eating donkey.  lol.

It’s been a good couple of 3 miles drives recently.  Chewbacca is now up to about 13 miles of experience on the road. lol.  Still have a way to go to catch Luke, who is probably up to about 75 miles of road experience, but hey, who’s counting.  Luke has been out for a couple of 3 – 3 1/2 mile drives recently, too. 

Dixie is stil in purgatory.  lol.  I’m round penning her, and I will drive her soon, but she will be staying on the farm for the time being.

In other news, my lumpy thigh will probably be needing surgery.  It’s a high possibilty and I have an appointment with a surgeon coming up in 2 weeks.  This thing is a mass.  It is not a lipoma, not a cyst, it is not fluid filled, and it is not a lymph node.  So knowing what it’s not is good in a way… but I’d like to know for what it is exactly. 

And I can’t say I like where it’s located, either.  It is on or near my femoral arter in the middle of my inner thigh.  I had it ultrasounded and the doctors felt that is very near, possibly under or between my femoral artery and another artery that branches off into a “Y”.  So I can’t say I’m thrilled about getting surgery done on a tumor so close to a major vessel. 

But I’ll just see what the surgeon says and whatever happens with an MRI and all that.  And of course, the big question is if the tumor is bening or malignant.  Knowing my luck…. I’m not even going to say, you get the idea.  I’m trying not to think worst case, but after the scare I had about a blood clot in my femoral artery and all, it’s a little hard to stay calm and zen-like.

It never ends.  First my husband, now me.  What’s next?  Maybe something good for a change… like winning the lottery?!  That would be nice.

It is raining today, so our plans to paint the second coat of orange on the horse trailer will be put on held unless it clears up.  Otherwise, we will paint tomorrow.  Pictures will come once it’s done!  After the orange gets finished, all that’s left is doing the black trim and adding graphics.  It’s very close to finished, and it really does look good, even for being an orange horse trailer 😀

have a good day!

 

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them. You can feel free to check out my YouTube at http://www.youtube.com/user/yautjakshai
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

