Return of Evil Dixie

What a week it’s been !  Busy, busy, busy!

“Project Pumpkin” is coming along..  The horse trailer is now orange.  Inside has been repainted, too.  Pictures will be posted upon completion.  Next weekend’s tasks are coat the orange on one more time and possibly paint the black trim.  After that, it will be adding the graphics.    I have pictures of each step of the way.

Luke and Chewbacca have been wonderful.  I think we are all enjoying this wonderful weather.   It’s been between 75-80 all week, with sun, sun, and more sun.  I’ve been staying on top of getting Chew, Luke, and even Jesse worked – just eeking out every last bit of barn time I can and sapping up the beautiful weather.

I really do feel very lucky to have wonderful horses to work with.  They are a pleasure to drive, and just so much joy simply to be around…..

…. and then there’s Dixie.

Dixie is, was, has been, and always will be.. a snot.  Somehow, way back a few months ago, if you recall I said the aliens must have abducted the real Dixie and replaced her with a sweet, mannerly clone.  Well, they’ve given me back “evil Dixie”.  Dixie is as rude as the day is long.  She will push you around, if you tie her, she paws, calls, paces around, and slams into the stalls.  She will rear on the farrier.  She will try to run between your legs at the gate.  She is as rude as you can imagine and that carries over into driving, too.

In the arena, if she doesn’t want to work, she will go so slow a snail could out run her.  No amount of use of the whip gets her moving.  On the road, she is typically overly spooky, fidgety, fighting, and basically under any situation, she is not a pleasure to drive or generally be around, either.  You have to cling to her mouth and check her back every 10 feet or so.  If you slacken on the reins at all, she speeds up and will tear through the bit. I don’t know what crawled into her earlier this year to actually drive like a broke and nice little horse, but it sure as shit is gone.

Evil Dixie has returned upon full, and the last few times I’ve driven her, she’s been terrible.  Saturday was the ultimate of terrible.  The single worst she’s ever been in the 5 years we have owned her.  No amount of training, pleading, begging, or beating, has ever corrected Dixie’s bad attitude and general uncompliance.

The *only* reason I drive her is my vein attempt to keep her thin.  That doesn’t work either.  She’s still fat as a cow and no matter whether I round pen her or drive her lumpy butt for miles, she does not lose the weight.  I just can’t manage to work her enough.  I don’t work her because I enjoy doing it. I really need to find her a child or something that will torture the living daylights out of her and maybe work off some her fat.

So Saturday, I popped her out on the road for a 2 mile hike.  Every single step of the way she was fidgety, fighting the bit, either jumping sideways, or running through it, and looking at everything.  Twice she spun around and backed the cart up off the road, managing to spin it in a 180.  She can do that particular move quickly.  Very quickly.

So, there’s a battle here, and a battle there, and fist fight there, and a spin off the road there…. and I manage to make it through a little over 1 1/2 miles.  We’re on route home when Dixie pulls a “OH MY GOD JUMP TO THE SIDE OVER NOTHING” for the umteenth time.

Oh, did I mention I made her fat little butt trot the ENTIRE TIME?… So you think she’s actually run dry on her piss-tude, since she isn’t exactly fit in the first place.  Nope.

Dixie suddenly spins out sideways, turning the cart in a 180 (away from home, mind you), and runs into the road.  IN FRONT OF A TRUCK.

THANK GOD, and THANK YOU TRUCK DRIVER, FOR NOT SPEEDING AND PAYING ATTENTION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

The man slams on his breaks and ends up about 12″ away from me and Dixie.  He would have run us BOTH over if he wasn’t on the ball.

So, I’m fuming by this point and crack that little pain in the butt mini so damned hard she practically ran the rest of the way home.  I finally let her walk 1/4″ mile from home, and she spooks at a leaf, a biker, a line in the road.    Then, we turn into the driveway and she sees people standing in the driveway.  OH NO. PEOPLE!  SPOOK SIDEWAYS, slips on leaves and FALLS DOWN at a half trot/jump sort of move.  She slams to the ground and fumbles with her legs still running and manages to pull herself back to her feet, walk down the driveway and get unhitched.  I had to use every ounce of self control I’ve ever had to calm down and manage my fury.

Needless to say, when I returned to the barn the next day, I did not so much as even look at Dixie.   And, just as a side note.  If I die working a horse, I’ll only have died “doing what I enjoy”, if I ENJOYED THE HORSE I died while I was working.

But, I did convince my husband to join me for a road drive with Chewbacca and Luke.  After yesterday’s experience, I just did not want to hit the road again by myself this time.  And since both horses needed to get worked anyway…

It just worked out well, and it was a beautiful morning.  We got them out on the road around 9, and went for probably an hour.  We did 3 miles exactly.  Chewbacca’s longest drive.
He was super.  Luke was super.  My husband was super.  Everyone was super.It was great.  Chewie did a lot of trotting.  And I got some video.  We even finally went for a walk around the construction zone, and quickly realized that the “cement walkway” wasn’t cement and wasn’t solid, either.  So if anyone at the construction zone is wondering why there’s a  horse hoof print in the walkway…. umm…. we don’t know anything about it.

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=video-2011-10-09-10-07-06.mp4

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=video-2011-10-09-09-55-20.mp4

http://s43.photobucket.com/albums/e393/KShai/?action=view&current=video-2011-10-09-10-11-24.mp4

This weekend we also went to a pumpkin farm.  I’m going to attempt to actually carve a pumpkin this year.  And having no creative skills what so ever, this will be interesting.  Pictures of that to come, too.

We also visited this place:

Mars’ Cheese Castle.  And as you can see, it really is a Castle.  This place has a very large collection of cheese, jams, beers, and other oddities.  It’s very yummy.  And I bought my much-loved chocolate pebbles.  Diet be damned this weekend.  I’m eating chocolate pebbles.  🙂

My diet is coming along well, though.  Really.  Somehow, though, Ive managed to not lose a pound in all of September.  I guess I’ve either hit a major plateau, or I really have to make a major change in my diet.  I’m not sure the 8 oz bag of chocolate pebbles is exactly the diet change I need, but hey.  I’ll come up with a new plan.

However, my weight loss has made my whole body get thinner.  I’m smaller than I’ve been since 2007, and my clothes, even new ones I just bought, are hanging off me.  Possibly because of how streamlined my thighs have been getting, I have noticed a large lump.  It is about the size of a golf ball.

For all I know, it could have been there for years.  I had the doctor look at it and he felt that it is a lipoma.  My gut tells me it isn’t.  I’ve felt, seen, and handled lipomas from years of work at small animal clinics.  Lipomas are just benign fatty tumors.  But I figure, Doctor knows best, right.  He felt the lump and said it’s a lipoma.  No worries.  So that put my mind at ease.  At least for a day.

The following morning I had another doctor appointment with a different doctor, who also looked at the lump as an aside during the exam.  She feels it far firmer than a lipoma would be, and recommends I get it evaluated further.  So, I’ve left a message with Doctor #1 for a referral to the hospital for an ultrasound, per Dr. #2’s suggestion.  So.. the short story is, I have a golf-ball sized hard lump in my thigh and no idea what it is, or how long it’s been there.

Fun times.

Nothing to worry about, right?

More updates as they come.  Enjoy what’s left of the weekend.  Hopefully it’s beautiful where you are, too!

About kshai1715

I am a lifelong equestrian, photography enthusiast, sci-fi lover, and sci-fi convention & costuming geek that also loves movies and video games. I am a hard working 30 something woman that survived cancer and am looking forward to a long, healthy, self-empowered life. Welcome to my blog and I hope you enjoy reading about my horses (and the rest of my life) as much as I like writing about them.
This entry was posted in Driving, Hackney, horse, miniature horse, Quarter Horse and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

